Skip to Main Content

ENGL 151L: Literature (McClintock-Walsh): Mythology

This online research guide contains links to literature databases and video tutorials

E-Books

E-books are available via Library's catalog "SpartaCat."  Search for author's name as subject, (or a short topic), then select "Electronic book" as type.

Books at Main Library

Library Catalog ("SpartaCat").  To find  books containing essays on your author's works, use SpartaCat to search the author's name as Subject . The catalog will point you to items that you can borrow from the Stacks, as well as items available from our Reference area. 

REFERENCE

  • Poetry for Students.  See vol. 41 for coverage of Anne Sexton's Cinderella. 
  • Online coverage of Sexton's Cinderella is also available via the Gale Virtual Reference Library database
  • Feminism in Literature, vol. 3.  (Anne Sexton), REF PN 471 .F43 2005 
  • Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology, REF BL 715 .R65 2010
  • Heroes and Heroines of Greece and Rome, REF BL 795 .H46 H45 2012
  • Gods and Goddesses of Greece and Rome, REF. BL 783 .G63 2012

BOOKS

  • Original Essays on the Poetry of Anne Sexton, PS3537 .E915 Z83 1988
  • Sylvia Plath,  a beginner's guide, PS3566 .L27 Z914 2001
  • Herself Defined:  H.D. and Her World, PS3507 .O726 Z68 2003
  • The Life of Poetry (by Muriel Rukeyser), PN1031 .R75
  • Contemporary Irish Literature: Transofrming Tradition, PR8753 .M35 1998 (contains a few pages about Eavan Boland)

 

Databases

TIP To access databases from off campus, enter your username (Student I.D. No.) and password (MyNCC password), when prompted.

  • Artemis Literary Sources.  This comprehensive tool searches multiple literature databases such as Literature Resouce Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library, etc.
  • Literature Resource Center provides full-text access to literary criticism, book reviews and plot summaries, and over 130 literary journals.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library.  A collection of searchable reference sources in full text, including Short Stories for Students, Poetry for Students, Drama for Students, Feminism in Literature, and others.
  • ProQuest.  Provides full-text access to a variety of publications, including literary journals.
  • JSTOR.  Contains full text articles from periodicals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.