Learn how to search the NCC Library Databases for newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.
Why use articles?
Articles are a part of a larger published work. Some articles can provide general overviews or basic facts about a topic. Others can provide information about very specific aspects of a topic or present the findings of in-depth research studies about it.
Why use library databases to find them?
Many newspaper, magazine, and journal articles can be difficult to find and access with a basic internet search. They might require a paid subscription in order to read them and may not be meant to be available to the general public. The library pays for access to these articles through our databases so you can use them for your research. Library database search results are also unbiased, which is not always the case with Google.
You may be required to log in with your Northampton single-sign-on credentials (your student id number and Workday password) in order to use our databases off-campus or from your own device.
When performing research for sociology classes, be sure to use the following databases that are available through the NCC Library.
These databases will be the most helpful with research in the sociology field:
Watch our video tutorial here:
One of the essential databases to your NCC research experience! Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full text.
Watch our video tutorial here:
Full-text scholarly articles from journals and books covering the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences.
Watch our video tutorial here:
One of the essential databases to your NCC research experience! Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full text.
Watch our video tutorial here:
Use this source to find scholarly articles on sociology topics, including criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and family, and many others.
Streaming video (similar to YouTube) covering educational topics in the humanities, social sciences, science, business, economics, and health. Features content from PBS, NBC News, Nightline, the History Channel and more.
These databases may be helpful in your research as well. They may address different cultures and societies, as well as contain statistical information or articles on controversial issues in society:
The African American Experience is the widest ranging collection on African American history and culture represented in speeches, photos, reference articles, biographies, cultural documents and timelines about people, places, and events.
Researching a controversial, persuasive, or current topic? Use this source to find long reports covering popular topics. Each report covers the background of the issue, current happenings, looking to the future, and pro/con arguments.
Watch our video tutorial here:
Watch our video tutorial here:
Watch our video tutorial here: