NCC students: Your student ID card serves as your library card.
Bethlehem students: To obtain a student ID card, visit the second floor of College Center, CC200 (VP of Student Affairs office). If you are standing in Laub Lounge, the office is to your right. There is a sign above the hallway/doorway that says "Spartan Card."
Monroe students: Visit the Student Services office in order to obtain your student ID card.
SpartaCat, the NCC Library Catalog, is an online tool that allows you to search for items owned by the Library. This includes books, encyclopedias, movies, audio, print periodicals, e-books, and more.
Books covering public health fall into many areas of the library:
HV636 section has books on Hurricane Katrina and other hurricanes and how the natural disaster impacted public health
RA11-RA399 section has books on health care, society and health, cultural issues, gender issues, ethnicity, radiation, and food
RA 424-425 covers the subject of PUBLIC HEALTH
RA638-RA648 section has books on vaccines, infectious diseases, and AIDS
RA649-RA651 section has books on pandemics and epidemics
RK52 section has books on oral health
RT98 section has books on community and public health nursing
Some suggestions for subjects to use in searching SpartaCat are public health, communicable diseases, climate changes health aspects, and natural disasters.
A History of Public Health
Public Health What It Is and How It Works
Introduction to Public HealthSpartaCat, the NCC Library Catalog, is an online tool that allows you to search for items owned by the Library. This includes books, e-books, encyclopedias, streaming videos, audiobooks, print periodicals, and more.
You have the option of performing many different searches within the library catalog:
Keyword: If you are looking for a general topic (like "global warming"), it is best to start here. It will search the title, summary, table of contents, and publication information of each of our books and items for the word or phrase you enter.
Author: If you are looking for books by a specific person, search using this. For example, if you want to find books by Edgar Allan Poe, enter his name like this: Poe, Edgar Allan.
Title: If you know the specific title of a work, choose this option.
Subject: Search the Subject Headings list. These are like #hashtags. They are the main word or phrase used to catalog the book and reflect what it is about, but they may not appear in the title, summary, table of contents, or publication information the way a keyword would.
While these are the most popular, basic types of searches, you could use one of the other options listed (ISBN, Genre, Series Title, Call Number, or Periodical Title) if it fits your needs.
To find books on our shelves, you will need to know the call number and shelf location of the book. It is also helpful to know its status. You can find this information by clicking on an item in your results list to view its details, and then scrolling to the availability section.
Stacks: The main collection of borrowable books in the libraries. Note the campus location indicated here.
Reference: An area for multi-volume encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. These books can only be used in the library, they cannot be checked out or borrowed. Note the campus location indicated here.
Reserves: Items set aside at the Circulation or Information Desk for specific courses. They may be in-library use only, have a shorter loan period, or have other restrictions. Note the campus and desk location indicated here.
Media Tower: The item is a DVD, VHS, or CD (although children's and young adult materials are in this location too) in the Bethlehem campus library.
Online: A digitial e-Book or streaming video viewed by clicking the provided access link.
New Books: A special section of the libraries for recent additions to our collection. Note the campus and desk location indicated here.
Browsing: An area for popular fiction and nonfiction titles and bestsellers. Note the campus and desk location indicated here.
Periodicals: A section of the libraries with print magazines and journals. Note the campus and desk location indicated here.
On Shelf: the item is available or on the shelf.
Due xx/xx/xxxx: the item is currently checked out and loaned to someone else. It is expected back to the library on the indicated date.
Look for the Item Type search result limiter.
Select Electronic Books and click Include to add this limiter or filter to your search.
This removes any and all items that are not eBooks from your search results.
In the results, eBooks will be tagged with the words Electronic Resource and their location will be Online. To view an eBook from the search results page, use the link labeled Click Here to Read Online. This Click Here to Read Online link also appears on the eBook's Item Details (or summary) page.
Clicking this link will open the eBook in a new screen. You may be prompted to login with your Northampton username and password before you can begin reading the book.
Watch our SpartaCat video tutorial for a search demonstration.