LibGuides: Topic: Marriage and Family: Finding Articles in Library Databases

Keywords

Use any combination of these keywords in our online databases in order to find relevant information. See the tab "Suggested Topics" for additional information on how to find a topic suitable to your research.

Family
Families
Parenting
Child abuse
Children
Mothers
Fathers
Domestic violence
Divorce
Same-sex marriage
Gay marriage
Adoption
Arranged marriages
Cohabitation
Work
Careers
Prenuptial agreements
Family values
Single parenting
Elderly

Periodicals Found In Databases

Here are the titles of some periodicals that you can find through our databases.

Community, Work and Family (SocIndex)

Family Process (EBSCOhost)

Family Relations (ProQuest and SocIndex)

Journal of Child and Family Studies (ProQuest and EBSCOhost)

Journal of Comparative Family Studies (ProQuest and EBSCOhost)

Journal of Divorce & Remarriage (SocIndex)

Journal of Family Communication (Communication Source)

Journal of Family and Economic Issues (ProQuest)

Journal of Family Psychology (PsycARTICLES)

Journal of Family Studies (ProQuest and EBSCOhost)

Journal of Family Theory and Review (SocIndex)

Journal of Marriage & Family (ProQuest and EBSCOhost)

Work and Family Life (ProQuest)

Library Databases: Introduction

Library databases are best used when you need to find articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and/or newspapers.

Helpful Online Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use this source to find scholarly articles on sociology topics, including criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and family, and many others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
One of the essential databases to your NCC research experience! Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles from journals and books covering the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Researching a controversial, persuasive, or current topic? Use this source to find long reports covering popular topics. Each report covers the background of the issue, current happenings, looking to the future, and pro/con arguments.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Full reports on current or controversial topics and issues that include an introduction, history, supporting and opposing arguments, timelines, and statistics.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Working on a persuasive speech or paper? Look here for articles on alternative points of view on controversial issues. Click the “Browse Issues” tab to get a list of topics.

Using Databases At Home

Only currently enrolled students, faculty and staff may use the databases from off-campus. Simply click on the database that you wish to use and when prompted:

Students: Use your WorkDay ID and password.

Faculty/Staff: Use your WorkDay ID and password

If you are using the databases on-campus, you will not need to log in.

Films on Demand Database

Use this database to view online videos featuring films from History Channel, A&E, and more.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video (similar to YouTube) covering educational topics in the humanities, social sciences, science, business, economics, and health. Features content from PBS, NBC News, Nightline, the History Channel and more.