Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Periodicals by Title
If you're interested in reading an article from a particular journal or magazine, and want to find the database where it's located, use the Publication Finder. This online tool allows you to search by title or subject, and will show you which database contains full-text coverage of each periodical.
For example, if you search for the journal title Film Comment, the directory will show you that the ProQuest Central database contains full-text issues of this publication from 1971-present, and the Academic Search Elite module of EBSCOhost contains full-text issues from 2002-present. You can then click on either database to search for topics within the back issues of this journal.
Movie Reviews vs. Film Criticism
What’s the difference between a movie review and film criticism? Good question!
Although both contain information about a film’s plot, characters, and production quality, a movie review is a much less formal document than an article containing academic film criticism. When reading an article, web site, or blog entry about a film, here are some things to look for to help distinguish between a movie review and scholarly criticism.
Provide a general summary of the plot, and may include a brief comparison to other, similar films;
May rate or rank the quality of a film (example: "two thumbs up")
Are not very long or detailed -- usually include just enough information to help you decide whether or not to see the movie;
Depending upon the source you're reading, the review could be written by a journalist, professional film critic, or amateur fan contributing to a wiki or blog;
The writer's tone may be humorous, snarky, dramatic, tongue-in-cheek, or "over the top" -- the reviewer's goal is to entertain the reader.
In addition to a summary of the plot, may analyze a particular theme or production aspect of the film;
Discusses the film within a historical, social, political, or theoretical context;
May compare or contrast the film to others in the same genre, and/or to works of literature covering the same themes;
Are of substantial length and detail, and may contain footnotes or bibliographical references;
Are written by scholars and experts in the field of film studies, or in an academic discipline related to communication or the performing arts;
The writer's tone will typically be serious -- the goal is to analyze the film in great depth and educate the reader.
Many thanks to the library at California State University, Monterey Bay, for portions of the information adapted for this page.
Print Periodicals for Film Studies
You will find these titles in the Periodicals Tower of Mack Library (main campus). Periodicals may be borrowed for one week with your student I.D. card.
- Film Quarterly
- Journal of Popular Film & Television