ENGL 201G: British Literature

Bloom's Literature

This source is best for students performing literature research. Search by title of story, poem, novel or play in order to find criticism and analysis. You can also search by author, character, theme and more.

Gale Literature

This comprehensive tool searches multiple literature database such as Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Gale Virtual Reference Library. 

 A collection of searchable reference sources in full text, including Short Stories for Students, Poetry for Students, Drama for Students, Feminism in Literature, and others.

Gale Literature Criticism

Contains full-text articles from Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twentieth Century Criticism.

ProQuest 

Provides full-text access to a variety of publications, including literary journals.

JSTOR

Contains full text articles from periodicals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Salem Literature

A collection of searchable e-books covering literature according to title, author or theme.

EBSCOhost  

Provides full-text access to a variety of publications, including literary journals.

Scholarly

• Articles are written by authorities in the field
• Articles undergo a peer review process before acceptance for publication
• Authors of articles always cite their sources
• Examples: The Georgia Review, Studies in Short Fiction

Magazines

• Intended for a general audience
• Articles are written by staff reporters
• Articles are heavily illustrated, generally with photographs
• No peer review process
• Articles usually do not have references or a bibliography
• Examples: Newsweek, Time, People