ENGL 151L: Literature (McClintock-Walsh): Databases

Scholarly

• Articles are written by authorities in the field
• Articles undergo a peer review process before acceptance for publication
• Authors of articles always cite their sources
• Examples: The Georgia Review, Studies in Short Fiction

Magazines

• Intended for a general audience
• Articles are written by staff reporters
• Articles are heavily illustrated, generally with photographs
• No peer review process
• Articles usually do not have references or a bibliography
• Examples: Newsweek, Time, People

TIP To access databases from off campus, enter your username (Student I.D. No.) and password (MyNCC password), when prompted.

• Artemis Literary Sources.  This comprehensive tool searches multiple literature databases such as Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
• Literature Resource Center provides full-text access to literary criticism, book reviews and plot summaries, and over 130 literary journals.
• Gale Literary Index.  Master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. The titles indexed are located in the NCC Library's Reference section.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library.  A collection of searchable reference sources in full text, including Short Stories for Students, Poetry for Students, Drama for Students, Feminism in Literature, and others.
• ProQuest.  Provides full-text access to a variety of publications, including literary journals.
• Literature Criticism Online contains full-text articles from Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twentieth Century Criticism.
• JSTOR.  Contains full text articles from periodicals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
• EBSCOhost.  Provides full-text access to a variety of publications, including literary journals.