Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PUBH: Public Health: Periodicals

What are e-journals?

E-Journals or Electronic Journals are journals that are available online through a tool other than a database.  The tool gives you the ability to search for full-text articles in many issues of the journal using keywords.  Sometimes the tool to access the online version is the publisher's website. 

When you click on the link for the e-journal, it will take you to another webpage that will indicate what issues are available to you in full-text.  There should be a tab on the webpage that allows you to "search within the journal".  After you click on this tab, then enter your search terms.  The results will be displayed.  Just look for the option of full-text or PDF to view the complete article.  You can then print the article.

Please contact a librarian if you need any help locating or viewing articles.

Public Health Periodicals

The following journals can be accessed directly using the internet:

BMC Public Health: an open access journal for scholarly and peer reviewed articles

Science Daily: an open access source for articles, images, book excerpts, and video

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR): a publication of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) that provides useful public health information and recommendations.

You can access  aditional articles by using the online databases.  Please click on the Online Databases tab to search ProQuest, PubMed Central, and EBSCOhost for full-text articles.

The following journals can be found using EBSCOhost: American Journal of Public Health, Journal of Environmental Health, and Nations Health.

The following titles can be found using ProQuest: American Journal of Public Health, Canadian Journal of Public Health, Journal of Community Health, Journal of Environmental Health, Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved, and Nations Health.