Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL 202: Ethics & Moral Problems: Online Videos

New video from Kanopy Streaming!

New video from the Kanopy collection: Waste Land

Brooklyn-based artist Vik Muniz grew up poor in Brazil. This film follows him as he returns to Rio de Janeiro, specifically to Jardim Gramacho, or 'Garbage Garden.' The world's largest landfill, it receives 7,000 tons of refuse daily, an astonishing 70 percent of all Rio's garbage. 'We are not pickers of garbage; we are pickers of recyclable materials,' says Tião, a catadore, or trash picker, who thinks of himself and his fellows as environmentalists. The pickers have a union, which has built a recycling center, medical clinic, day care and skills-training centers, and a community lending library of discarded books, for their members. In this film, Muniz photographs a number of the pickers, re-works the photographs with garbage, and auctions several in London. Believing in the transformative power of art, Muniz donates the proceeds to the pickers who posed, in recognition of their lives, in honor of the dignity of their work.

Using Library Databases From Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link, then type the same user name and password that you use to open your "Student Workday" account. Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Online Videos

A variety of films may be viewed online through the Films on Demand database. You may watch the programs listed here by clicking on each title, or you may search the database to find videos on your choice of topics. This list contains just a sample of the many subjects covered by Films on Demand!

 

Segments of the "Great Philosophers" series

 

Medical, scientific & bioethics topics

 

Segments of the series "What's the Right Thing to Do?"