Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLS: Political Science

This guide will help you find and evaluate information for political science topics and assignments.

Getting started

Not sure where to start? Try one of the library databases or websites listed below. 

Don't forget, you can also search the library's catalog, SpartaCat, for books and other materials on your topic. Or try our EBSCO Discovery Service tool to search our collection and many of our databases at the same time.

Finding Background Information for Your Topic

Library databases

On the Internet

Finding Scholarly Research Articles for Your Topic

Library Databases

General Subject Databases
These should provide information for any topic you may be working with. 

Subject-Specific Databases
These focus specifically on certain subjects. Which one to use, if any, will depend on your topic. There may even be others that could work for you. Explore the Databases by Category 
list to see all of your options.

On the Internet

General Search Tips

Look for options to filter by full-text, peer-reviewed (or scholarly), source type, or date in the library's databases.

Search for a phrase by putting it in quotes. Example: "food insecurity"

Combine search terms using and, or, or not

Think of other similar words, related ideas, or synonyms as search terms for your topic. 

If a search isn't working, adjust your search terms. Try a different database or search tool.

View our Databases by Category to find the appropriate library search tool or database to use with your specific topic.  

Finding Political Science Publications

You can browse all the online periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) the library subscribes to using the Publication Finder tool. Look under the Political Science or Politics & Government discipline areas. If you know the title of a periodical and want to see if we have access to it, you can also search for it by name.

Once you find a periodical you're interested in, browse all the available issues and articles or use the search within feature to look for ones on specific topics published in that title. 

Watch our video tutorial for a search demonstration of Publication Finder here: