Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMTH 221: History of Broadcasting: Finding Articles in Library Databases

This guide is intended to help students with research assignments about the history of broadcasting.

See the best library databases we subscribe to for research about broadcasting topics. Learn some search strategies and tips when working with these search tools, view tutorials, and learn how to request items we don't have through Interlibrary Loan.

Suggested Library Databases

For background information (straight-to-the-point, basic information on your topic), try one of these reference resources and search your general topic (such as, "vinyl record players" or "Orson Welles"). These may be useful to get some basic facts and information about the historical or cultural context of your topic:

To search for more detailed articles and analysis, you can do more complex searches in larger collections. You'll want to use a combination of search keywords and include more specific ideas or aspects of your topic when searching in these suggested databases:

Strategies for Working with Library Databases

Search Keywords

The library databases search for every instance of your search keyword or keywords as you typed them. If that word or word(s) appear anywhere in the:

  • title
  • summary
  • publication information
  • or sometimes even the text or content itself

That source will be in your results list, even if it is not actually about your topic or has very little information related to it. 

(Google works similarly, but does a lot of prediction and guesswork through its algorithm about what you are looking for that our library databases may not.)

Search Filters and Limiters

Most library databases will let you filter your results by:

  • Full-text
  • Date (of Publication)
  • Source type
  • Scholarly (peer-reviewed)

Sometimes you can choose these options when you first enter your search but sometimes you need to apply them after you have a search started.

Full-text will almost always be appropriate if you want to be able to access, view, or read whatever you see in the results immediately.

Source type is helpful if you only want to search for specific types of content - like articles, books, streaming video or audio files. 

Scholarly (peer-reviewed) may also be useful to see only those types of sources in your results. 

Accessing Full-Text

If you selected Full-Text as a search limiter, you should see a link somewhere on the page to the PDF or HTML text version of the source. Depending on the database, this link may be in different places.

Sometimes you may see Open in..., View record in..., or Full-Text Finder in EBSCO Discovery Service, which means the source is located in another database. It's usually just a few more clicks to get to the PDF or HTML text in it's original location if that is the case.

Publication Finder

Video Tutorials

Need help searching some of the databases listed above? You can view our search tutorials:

See more tutorials on the NCC Libraries YouTube channel. 

Many of the databases available through the NCC Libraries have help pages through their official websites as well. An example of this is EBSCO Discovery Service.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - If We Don't Have What You Need

If you forget to select full-text and see an article you want that we don't have access to or are searching online and find one that is asking you to pay for it, you can use the library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request the article from another library. The best part? It's free! Fill out a request form here.