Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CJST: Criminal Justice: Statistics & Polls

Government Sites

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)

Statistics about crime and victims, criminal offenders, courts and sentencing, law enforcement, corrections, and more. Data collected is "critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded."

Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR)

Published by the FBI. "The UCR Program's primary objective is to generate reliable information for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management; over the years, however, the data have become one of the country’s leading social indicators."

National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)

"The Bureau of Justice Statistics' (BJS) National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization."

Education and Organization Sites

Gun Violence Archive (GVA)

"The Gun Violence Archive is an online archive of gun violence incidents collected from over 7,500  law enforcement, media, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide near-real time data about the results of gun violence. GVA is an independent data collection and research group with no affiliation with any advocacy organization."

Juvenile Court Statistics

Statistics and reports from the National Center for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ).

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)

"The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN)."

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

Sponsored by the University at Albany. The Sourcebook includes data covering varying aspects. The Sourcebook is broken into six sections: (1) Characteristics of the criminal justice systems, (2) Public attitudes toward crime and criminal justice-related topics, (3) Public attitudes toward crime and criminal justice-related topics, (4) Characteristics and distribution of persons arrested, (5) Judicial processing of defendants, and (6) Persons under correctional supervision.