LibGuides: ECON: Economics: Home

How to GET HELP from a LIBRARIAN

Need help with finding sources, searching databases, formatting citations, or deciding on a paper topic? The NCC Librarians are here for you.

Both the Mack Library (Bethlehem) and ESSA Library (Monroe) are open if you'd like to visit in person, or you can chat online with a Librarian no matter where you are! Go to the Library's home page and click on the orange "Ask the Librarian" tab to start chatting.

To find out when we're open, take a look at the Library's hours.

For more ways to reach us, and answers to our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs), click here. You can also send an e-mail question to askthelibrarian@northampton.edu, or set up a private appointment with a Librarian by using the "Book A Librarian" request form.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Researching Topics in Economics

This Research Guide will help you find Library resources that explain concepts in Economics, including books, periodicals, online databases, and websites.

It's easy to borrow books with LIBRARY to GO!

Good news!

Even though both NCC Libraries are open again, you can still borrow books and other materials remotely by using our Library to Go service. You can choose quick pickup on campus, or free delivery to your home.

Use Library to Go PLUS to request:

Access to materials that your instructor has put on electronic reserve in Blackboard;
Scanned pages from reference books like encyclopedias;
Scanned articles from print journals in the Library's Periodicals Tower.

NEW Database: IBISWorld Industry Research!

The NCC Libraries now offer students, faculty, and staff access to the IBISWorld Industry Research database! IBISWorld provides an extensive collection of reports, with insights, comprehensive data, and in-depth analysis for thousands of global industries. Here are just a few of the features:

A broad overview of each targeted industry
Product and market segmentation
Cost structure benchmarks
Competitive dynamics
Supply chain map
Outlook on the regulatory environment
Macroeconomic drivers
Five-year forecasts
SWOT analyses
Global, national, and state-level data
Downloadable reports in PDF, Word, and Excel format
Graphs, charts, and maps that can be used in presentations.

Click here to try the new IBISWorld Industry Research database now!

NEW books in the NCC Library collection!

Cost of Congress: What Americans Get for Their Money by Kunz, Karen.
Call Number: HJ 2052 .K84 2022 Print
ISBN: 9781440858000
Publication Date: 2022
Congressional approval ratings have fallen to single digits; citizens believe that Congress fails to do the things its members are publicly paid to do. What does Congress do for our dollars, and how has that changed in the last 50 years? What was the cost to taxpayers for Bill Clinton's impeachment hearings? What about the Benghazi investigation and efforts to obtain the votes required to repeal Obamacare, while failing to consider Zika virus funding bills? What is the true cost of earmarks? Why do members of Congress continue to get paid during government shutdowns? Congress' increasing use of continuing resolutions, and federal agencies' almost semi-annual preparations for government shutdowns, come at a significant cost. Combining extensive documentary research with interviews of current and former members and staffers, this book assesses not only how Congress spends tax dollars on its operations, but also what Americans receive for those dollars.
Edible Economics: A Hungry Economist Explains the World by Chang, Ha-Joon.
Call Number: HB 74 .F66 C495 2023 Print
ISBN: 9781541700543
Publication Date: 2023
In this book, best-selling author and economist Ha-Joon Chang makes challenging economic ideas delicious by plating them alongside stories about food from around the world, using the diverse histories behind familiar food items to explore economic theory. For example, chocolate is a lifelong addiction for Chang, but more exciting are the insights it offers into post-industrial knowledge economies. While okra makes Southern gumbo heart-meltingly smooth, it also speaks of capitalism's entangled relationship with freedom.

Contact a Librarian

Anne Bittner

Email Me

Contact:

Mack Library
Northampton Community College
College Center, 4th Floor

610-332-6139

Subjects: Business, Paralegal

Prepared By

This Research Guide was updated on May 2, 2024 by Anne Bittner.

ECON: Economics: Home