Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Know Your Sources
- Articles are written by authorities in the field
- Articles undergo a peer review process before acceptance for publication
- Authors of articles always cite their sources
- Examples: The Georgia Review, Studies in Short Fiction
- Intended for a general audience
- Articles are written by staff reporters
- Articles are heavily illustrated, generally with photographs
- No peer review process
- Articles usually do not have references or a bibliography
- Examples: Newsweek, Time, People
Databases - Find Articles
To access databases from off campus, enter your MyNCC username and password, when prompted.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This source is best for students performing literature research. Search by title of story, poem, novel or play in order to find criticism and analysis. You can also search by author, character, theme and more. It includes content on Shakespeare too.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Looking for literary criticism? Start here! Full-text literary criticism, author biographies, and commentary of literary works.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Full-text literary criticism, author biographies, and commentary of literary works.
Great African American Authors (Streaming Video) This link opens in a new window
Great African American Authors is a video series that tells the history of African American literature in the United States from 1761 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles covering the Arts and Social Sciences.
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable e-books covering literature according to title, author or theme.
Some Women Writers
- Isabel Allende
- Maya Angelou
- Margaret Atwood
- Simone de Beauvoir
- Gwnedolyn Brooks
- Willa Cather
- Sandra Cisneros
- Helene Cixous
- Buchi Emecheta
- Louise Erdrich
- Marilyn French
- Charlotte Perkins Gilman
- Lorraine Hansberry
- Bessie Head
- Lillian Hellman
- Zora Neale Hurston
- Maxine Hong Kingston
- Doris Lessing
- Toni Morrison
- Joyce Carol Oates
- Sylvia Plath
- Adrienne Rich
- Anne Sexton
- Gertrude Stein
- Amy Tam
- Alice Walker
- Edith Wharton
- Virginia Woolf