LibGuides: NURS : Nursing: Find articles online

Find journal articles in databases

The library has many databases that contain nursing and allied health content. They include CINAHL (EBSCOhost), Health Source: Nursing (EBSCOhost), ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source.

To find Nursing journals in the database, look at the source information. If the journal has nurse or nursing in the title, then the journal is a nursing journal. There is not a way to just search nursing journals. All the databases contain journals covering all aspects of health and medicine.

Tips for using databases

1. only use single words or phrases for your search terms.

2. mark full text, so only complete articles will be listed in the results

3. use the filter to mark a date range to find current articles

4. look at the subjects assigned to the article

5. when you print the article in a pdf format the citation information will not print. You will have to copy and paste into a document or you can save the article to the cloud or Google drive.

PubMed Central PMC

PubMed Central--PMC This link opens in a new window
This source is full text! Use it to find articles related to health, medicine, human biology, & other life sciences topics.

PubMed

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
This resource is available to everyone for free. You do not need a login to use it.

Enter your keywords in the search box.

The results will display.

Narrow the search results to find a great source by using the filters:

Text Availability: Choose Free Full Text

Article Type: Choose anything but books and documents

Publication Date: Choose 1 year or 5 years

Open Access Journals

Open Access Journals are full - text peer - reviewed, scholarly journals that are available on the Internet for free to anyone, no login is required to access the full text of the article.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Expanding beyond biomedicine into the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines, BMC now offers a wider portfolio of subject fields on a single open access platform.

Clinical Case Reports (Open Access Journal)
Clinical Case Reports welcomes case reports, clinical images, and procedural videos from all areas of Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Psychology, Medical Ethics, Social Work and Veterinary Science.

Clinical Case Reports aims to publish cases which illustrate the use of important systematic reviews

Frontiers This link opens in a new window
Frontiers is a leading Open Access Publisher and Open Science Platform
Our journals are led and peer-reviewed by editorial boards of over 100,000 top researchers. Covering more than 600 academic disciplines, we are one of the largest and highest-cited publishers in the world. To date, our freely accessible research articles have received over 500 million views and downloads and 1 million citations.
PLOS One This link opens in a new window
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Search EBSCO Discovery Service

EBSCOhost health databases

EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
One of the essential databases to your NCC research experience! Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full text.

Click on the link above, and then click on health, and you can search all of EBSCOhost's health modules at one time including: Academic Search Elite, Associates Programs Source, CINAHL with full text, Health Source Nursing and Academic Edition, and Master File Premier.

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine.

Health Sciences databases

Associates Program Source This link opens in a new window
This resource contains articles and books related to most programs at a community college.
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window
A great source to find articles from scholarly journals covering all aspects of dentistry.
Gale EBOOKS This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable eBooks, covering all subjects.
Salem Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks covering business, careers, health, history, science, controversial issues, and social sciences.