LibGuides: EDUC: Education: Databases

What are Library Databases?

Magazine icon: Made by www.freepik.com

These databases have collections that focus on education.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles from journals and books covering the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Contains abstracts and full-text of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. Sponsored by Educational Resources Information Center of the U.S. Department of Education, this database is publicly available on the web but can also be accessed as part of the library's EBSCOhost databases.
Explora for Educators (scroll down to "Explora Educator's Edition")
Access to educational journals, books, reports, and more. Explora also provides lesson plans, students tools, curriculum standards and other teacher resources. Part of the library's EBSCOhost databases.

Although these databases focus on other subjects, they might also contain research related to education topics.

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use this source to find scholarly articles on sociology topics, including criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and family, and many others.

Step 1: Try the search terms "education" (or "secondary education", "special education", etc.) AND the topic you are researching.

For example, "early childhood education" AND "family involvement."

Step 2: Take note of any alternate search terms as you are researching. Alternate search terms can help if you reach a dead end.

Alternates: "elementary education" AND "parental participation"

Tip: Always select the Full Text option, if available, by clicking in the check box:

Use Boolean operators in your database or Google searches to find more relevant results faster.

To turn on captions, hover over the bottom of the video and click on the button.