LibGuides: BIOS 105: Contemporary Biology: Databases

KNOW YOUR SOURCES

Scholarly Journals

Magazines

Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea & Bacteria This link opens in a new window
Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB) is a reference work for microbiology that describes bacteria physiology, ecology, and taxonomy. It is the electronic version of the book series of the same name located in the reference area of the library.
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window
This database covers all of your science needs! All branches of science, including health and medicine, are represented. Current and controversial science topics are also covered here.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
One of the essential databases to your NCC research experience! Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full text.
Salem Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable e-books covering science topics like biomes, the environment, & more.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Researching a controversial, persuasive, or current topic? Use this source to find long reports covering popular topics. Each report covers the background of the issue, current happenings, looking to the future, and pro/con arguments.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Working on a persuasive speech or paper? Look here for articles on alternative points of view on controversial issues. Click the “Browse Issues” tab to get a list of topics.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Full reports on current or controversial topics and issues that include an introduction, history, supporting and opposing arguments, timelines, and statistics.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Expanding beyond biomedicine into the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines, BMC now offers a wider portfolio of subject fields on a single open access platform.

Clinical Case Reports (Open Access Journal)
Clinical Case Reports welcomes case reports, clinical images, and procedural videos from all areas of Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Psychology, Medical Ethics, Social Work and Veterinary Science.

Clinical Case Reports aims to publish cases which illustrate the use of important systematic reviews

Frontiers This link opens in a new window
Frontiers is a leading Open Access Publisher and Open Science Platform
Our journals are led and peer-reviewed by editorial boards of over 100,000 top researchers. Covering more than 600 academic disciplines, we are one of the largest and highest-cited publishers in the world. To date, our freely accessible research articles have received over 500 million views and downloads and 1 million citations.

Journal of Health Study and Medicine
The Journal of Health Study and Medicine (JHSM) is dedicated to publish original scientific articles about all aspects of medicine, covering significant developments in the field of medical sciences, as well as a wide range of issues concerning health study and related research areas. By extending the primary scope, it is an interdisciplinary journal that bridges computer science and medicine. This allows to present the latest scientific achievements together with engineering innovations that drive the progress of medicine, such as healthcare robots, smart wearable devices, intelligent diagnostic systems, telemedicine, and medical applications focusing on artificial intelligence (AI).

PLOS One This link opens in a new window
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PubMed Central--PMC This link opens in a new window
This source is full text! Use it to find articles related to health, medicine, human biology, & other life sciences topics.