Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOS 160: Human Biology: Websites

Health/Biology Websites

New England Journal of Medicine.  (www.nejm.org) Provides recent original research articles.

PubMed Central. "Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health" (NIH).

National Institutes of Health (NIH) Provides Health Categories for easy browsing, as well as a list of specific health topics A-Z, and links to current clinical trials.

BioMed Central.  Provides access to peer-reviewed, original research papers in the biomedical field.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  Includes information on diseases, related data and statistics, and videos.

Public Library of Science (PLoS).  Provides free access to scholarly, peer-reviewed full-text articles.

National Center for Biotechnology.  Provides access to PubMed, PubMed Central, online biomedical textbooks and other literature.

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.  Provides access to journal articles and studies.

 

Evaluating Web Sites

Critically review all web sites with the following questions in mind:

  • Who is the author(s) or sponsor(s) of the site? What are their qualifications? (Authority)
  • Is this a commerical, governmental, personal, academic Web site? (Accuracy)
  • What is the purpose of the site? (Objectivity)
  • What is the date of the information given? (Currency)
  • Is the information documented? (Coverage)

REMEMBER - not all information found on the Web is useful for college research!