Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEOL: Geology: Databases & Periodicals

This guide will help you find information about topics in Geology, including rocks, minerals, land formations, mining, fracking, and weather.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) -- The Super Database!

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is the most powerful database at the Library, allowing you to search many smaller databases all at once. Search results include:

  • Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers;
  • Descriptions of materials in the Library's collection, such as books and DVDs;
  • Links to online resources like e-books and streaming videos.

Be sure to click the box labeled "Limit to Full Text" in order to find the entire content of articles.

Geology-Related Periodicals

You will find these print titles in the Periodicals Tower of Mack Library (main campus). Periodicals may be borrowed for one week with your student I.D. card.

  • Earth
  • Science
  • Scientific American

Many more magazines and journals are available online through the Library databases. Here are just a few examples!

Titles on EBSCOhost:

  • Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society 
  • Contributions to Mineralogy & Petrology
  • Journal of Geology
  • Journal of Metamorphic Geology 
  • Rocks & Minerals

Titles on ProQuest:

  • Applied Geophysics
  • Geological Magazine 
  • Geotectonics
  • Journal of Earth Science
  • Journal of Geosciences
  • Journal of the Geological Society
  • Journal of Volcanology & Seismology
  • Mineralogy & Petrology 
  • Mining & Minerals 
  • Rock Mechanics & Rock Engineering

Using Library Databases From Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link, then type the same user name and password that you use to open your "Student Workday" account. Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Database Resources for Geology

Credo Reference -- A collection of full-text, electronic reference books. Titles include Philip's Guide to Minerals, Rocks & Fossils.  

EBSCOhost -- Use the Academic Search Elite, MasterFILE Premier, and Newspaper Source modules to find information from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many articles are full-text. 

ProQuest Central -- Index to academic journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a variety of subject areas. Many articles are full-text.

Salem Science -- These e-books from Salem Press cover a variety of earth science topics, as well as information about careers in the sciences.

Today's Science -- This module of the Facts on File database contains science news in a variety of subject areas, including geology, earth science, meteorology, and climate change.

Finding Periodicals by Title

If you're interested in a particular journal or magazine, and want to find the Library database where it's located, use the Publication Finder. This online tool allows you to search by title or subject, and will show you which database contains full-text coverage of each periodical.

For example, if you search for the Journal of Geology, the directory will show you that the Academic Search Elite module of the EBSCOhost database contains full-text articles from this publication, covering 1994 to the present. You can then link to the database to search for topics within the back issues of this journal.