Skip to Main Content

ENGL 264G: Irish Literature

Websites with letters and diaries

Declaration of Intention of James Martin
Declaration of Intention of Mrs. Matilda B. Flaig
Democratic Party Platform of 1892
Immigrant Letters (Provincial Archives of New Brunswick)
Immigration: Challenges for New Americans (Primary Sources)
Inspiring Emigrant Letters Home to Ireland from American in the famine era
Irish Emigration Database
There is a filter that allows you to search just letters and diaries.
Irish Girl and the American Letter
The Irish Story website contains articles, interviews, podcasts, etc.
Irish Immigrant Letters Home (Historical Society of Pennsylvania)
Irish Immigration (Primary Sources)
Letter from Mary Garvey, Irish Immigrant
Letters from Irish Emigrants (Provincial Archives of New Brunswick
Archives of New Brunswick Canada. Click on Download to view the letter
Letter to Henry Ford requesting donation to Whittier House
No Irish Need Apply (newspapers)
No Irish Need Apply (NY Times)
No Irish Need Apply (song)
Oral History Interviews from Queens College
The goal of this project is to record and preserve the living history of Irish immigrants who made their first home in Queens. From Woodside and Sunnyside to Bayside and Floral Park, the Irish of Queens have made a wonderful and lasting imprint on our country.
Primary Source Reading: Irish Immigration
Primary Sources for Irish Immigration in the 1800s
Whittier House appeal letter for immigrants
Whittier House fundraising brochure, "Will He Get In?"

Other Documents

Letter from John Doyle to his wife in Ireland
Source: Gale in Context US History

JSTOR database of full text articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles from journals and books covering the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences.

To find primary source content such as letters in JSTOR, use the search terms irish letters immigration, then click search.

When the results display, use the filters on the left side to choose PRIMARY SOURCE CONTENT Documents