English 101: Finding Articles

What are scholarly journal articles?

• Authors are typically experts/researchers in their field
• Typically published in academic/university publications or professional journals.
• Article goes through peer-review process before being published.
• Often presents the results of a study (qualitative/quantitative).
• Substantial bibliography included.

 Quick tips when searching for articles in NCC Library databases:

• Remember to use "and" as the connector for your terms!
• Start with broad ideas and narrow down:
• opioids and addiction
• opioids and mental health
• addiction and mental health
• addiction and mental illness

Be Creative! Don't give up!

• heroin and addiction
• oxycodone and prescriptions
• painkillers and football and addiction

What is the quickest way to search NCC Library databases??

EBSCO Discovery is the answer!  NCC Library's EBSCO Discovery service will allow you to search all of the library's online databases and catalog at the same time.  Using EBSCO Discovery, your search results will include, books eBooks, journal articles, streaming video, magazines, newspapers and more!  

Click below to explore NCC Library databases in a variety of ways:

Databases A-Z

Alphabetical listing of all library databases.

Databases by Category 

 Databases listed by content and category.  For example Allied Health, Business, Criminal Justice, Current/Controversial Issues among many others.

The Interlibrary loan request form is available for articles that NCC library does not available in full-text format in our databases.  Simply fill out the form and we'll do the rest!  You will be contacted when the article is available for pickup.