In the libraries' collections you will find picture books written in languages other than English, and also English alongside another language in the same book. The text might be mostly in English with a just few words of a different language sprinkled in, or the entire story might appear in both languages, or some combination in between.
Braille books are located at the Bethlehem library in the Early Childhood Education Collection.
Author: Peter Elwell
Published: 2009
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Text in English and in Spanish
"Despite his friends' teasing, Oscar the caterpillar studies to prepare for becoming a butterfly and migrating to Mexico, so when things do not turn out as he expects, he is still able to make his dream come true"--Publisher's description.
Author: Rigoberto González; Cecilia Concepcion Alvarez
Published: 2013
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Bilingual English/Spanish
"With Mother's Day coming, Antonio finds he has to decide what is important to him when his classmates make fun of the unusual appearance of his mother's partner, Leslie"--Publisher's description.
Author: Pat Mora; Rafael Lopez (Illustrator)
Published: 2009
Location: Bethlehem
Text in English and in Spanish
"Children read aloud in various settings to celebrate El Día de los niños, or Children's Day, in this bilingual story. Includes facts about Mexico's annual celebration of children (April 30) and the book fiestas that are often included"--Publisher's description.
Author: Dr. Seuss; Carlos Rivera (Translator)
Published: 2015
Location: Bethlehem
Text in English and Spanish
"Two children sitting at home on a rainy day are visited by the Cat in the Hat who shows them some tricks and games"--Publisher's description.
Author: Gary Soto; Susan Guevara (Illustrator, Translator)
Published: 2005
Location: Monroe
Spanish words interspersed in the text
"Chato and Novio win a cruise but are disappointed to find that everyone else on board is a dog, and things go from bad to worse when the dogs party themselves sick and it is up to the cats to find help"--Publisher's description.
Author: Julie Paschkis (Illustrator)
Published: 2015
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Parallel text in English and Spanish
"All sorts of animals flutter and hum, dance and stretch, and slither and leap their way through this joyful collection of poems in English and Spanish. Julie Paschkis's words and art sing in both languages, bringing out the beauty and playfulness of the animal world"--Publisher's description.
Author: Pat Mora; John Parra (Illustrator)
Published: 2009
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Parallel text in English and Spanish
"A young multiracial boy celebrates family, friendship, and fun by telling about some of the everyday things for which he is thankful."--Publisher's description.
Author: Eric Velasquez
Published: 2010
Location: Bethlehem
Text in English and Spanish
"Eric and Grandma visit the Metropolitan Museum of Art for a school project, where he sees a painting by Diego Velasquez and realizes for the first time that he could be an artist when he grows up. Grandma presents Eric with the perfect Christmas gift: a sketchbook and colored pencils to use in his first steps toward becoming an artist"--Publisher's description.
Author: Roseanne Thong; John Parra (Illustrator)
Year Published: 2014
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Spanish words interspersed in the text
"A little girl discovers all the bright colors in her Hispanic American neighborhood"--Publisher's description.
Author: Dr. Seuss; Yanitzia Canetti (Translator)
Published: 2002
Location: Bethlehem
Text in English and Spanish
"A city of Whos on a speck of dust are threatened with destruction, until the smallest Who of all helps convince Horton's friends that Whos really exist"--Publisher's description.
Author: Jorge Ramos; Akemi Gutierrez (Illustrator)
Published: 2008
Location: Bethlehem
Text in English and Spanish
"In two bilingual stories printed back to back, children reflect on how much they resemble their parents"--Publisher's description.
Author: Carmen Lomas Garza; David Schecter (Editor); Harriet Rohmer (Editor); Francisco X. Alarcón (Translator)
Published: 1996
Location: Bethlehem
"The author describes, in bilingual text and illustrations, her experiences growing up in an Hispanic community in Texas."--Publisher's description.
Author: Juana Medina (Illustrator)
Published: 2016
Location: Bethlehem
In English with Spanish vocabulary words
"A spunky young girl from Colombia loves playing with her canine best friend and resists boring school activities, especially learning English, until her family tells her that a special trip is planned to an English-speaking place"--Publisher's description.
Author: Eric Carle
Published: 1994
Location: Bethlehem
Text entirely in Spanish
"Follows the progress of a hungry little caterpillar as he eats his way through a varied and very large quantity of food until, full at last, he forms a cocoon around himself and goes to sleep. Die-cut pages illustrate what the caterpillar ate on successive days"--Publisher's description.
Author: Susan Middleton Elya; Juana Martinez-Neal (Illustrator)
Published: 2017
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Text in Spanish and English.
"A rhyming twist on a classic fairy tale in which a queen places a pea under a young lady's mattress to see if she is truly a princess. Incorporates Spanish words and includes a glossary"--Publisher's description.
Author: Pato Mena (Illustrator)
Published: 2017
Location: Bethlehem
Text entirely in Spanish
"It is very hot in the jungle and suddenly a nice breeze arrives. The jaguar wants to take a siesta. Just then he saw a coati and said, 'Could you do me a big favor? Could you wake me up in exactly 10 minutes?' The coati wanted a siesta too, and asked the cockatiel to wake him up in exactly 10 minutes ..."--Publisher's description.
Author: Susan Middleton Elya; Susan Guevara (Illustrator)
Published: 2014
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Spanish words interspersed in the text
"A rhyming twist on the classic fairy tale in which a little girl saves her grandmother from a wolf. Includes glossary of Spanish words"--Publisher's description.
Author: Meg Medina; Anglea Dominguez (Illustrator)
Published: 2015
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Spanish words interspersed in the text
"Mia's abuela has left her sunny house with parrots and palm trees to live with Mia and her parents in the city. Mia helps Abuela learn English, and Mia learns some Spanish too, but it's still hard to understand each other. Then Mia sees a parrot in the pet-shop window and has the perfecto idea for how to help them all communicate a little better"--Publisher's description.
Author: Meg Medina; Angela Dominguez (Illustrator)
Published: 2015
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Text entirely in Spanish
"La abuela de Mia viene a vivir con Mia y sus padres. Cuando Mia eomparte con ella su cuento favorito a la hora de dormir, descubre que la abuela no entiende inglés. Mia la ayuda con el inglés y a la vez ella aprende algunas palabras en español. Pero la abuela no conoce suficientes palabras en inglés para compartir las historias de familia con su nieta. Un dia, Mia ve un loro en una tienda de mascotas y descubre la manera de ayudar a su abuela"--Publisher's description.
Author: Angela Dominguez (Illustrator)
Published: 2013
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Text in English and Spanish
"In this bilingual version of the classic rhyme, set in Peru, Maria takes her llama to school one day"--Publisher's description.
Author: Monica Brown; Sara Palacios (Illustrator)
Published: 2013
Location: Bethlehem
Parallel English and Spanish texts
"A creative, unique, bilingual Peruvian Scottish-American-soccer-playing artist celebrates her uniqueness."--Publisher's description. Parallel English and Spanish text.
Author: Maya Christina Gonzalez
Published: 2007
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Bilingual English/Spanish
"Maya, who lives in the dusty desert, opens her eyes wide to find the colors in her world, from Papi's black hair and Mami's orange and purple flowers, to Maya's red swing set and the fiery pink sunset"--Publisher's description.
Author: Cynthia Weill; Quirino Santiago (Artist); Martin Santiago (Artist)
Published: 2009
Location: Bethlehem
Parallel text in English and Spanish
"Introduces the concept of opposites using painted wooden folk art animal sculptures made by artisans from Oaxaca, Mexico"--Publisher's description.
Author: Susan Middleton Elya; Ana Aranda (Illustrator)
Published: 2018
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Spanish words interspersed in the text
"A brief rain shower does not dampen a Latino family's enjoyment of their town's parade and summer celebration, which includes street food, bands, a corn princess, and fireworks. Spanish words are defined in a glossary"--Publisher's description.
Author: F. Isabel Campoy; Alice Schertle; Alma Flor Ada; Vivi Escriva (Illustrator)
Published: 2003
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Spanish and English parallel text
"A collection of more than two dozen nursery rhymes in Spanish, from Spain and Latin America, with English translations"--Publisher's description.
Author:
Published:
Location: Bethlehem
Bilingual English-Spanish
"Celebrate the many ways that babies reach out to discover and learn about the world around them with this book that is sure to engage babies and grown-ups alike"--Publisher's description.
Author: Margaret Hall
Published: 2008
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Text in English and Spanish
"Describes and illustrates the seasons of the year"--Publisher's description.
Author: Meg Medina; Claudio Munoz (Illustrator)
Published: 2011
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Spanish words interspersed in the text
"Tìa Isa and her niece try to save enough money to buy a car to take the whole family to the beach"--Publisher's description.
Author: Roseanne Thong; Sara Palacios (Illustrator)
Published: 2014
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Bilingual English and Spanish
"This book explores Latin American traditions for celebrating Christmas Eve in a text that combines English and Spanish words, and follows the rhythm of Clement Moore's 'The Night Before Christmas'"--Publisher's description.
Author: Yuyi Morales (Illustrator); Tim O'Meara (Illustrator)
Published: 2014
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Parallel text in English and Spanish
"With spare text and vibrant illustrations, this book examines Frida Kahlo's creative process"--Publisher's description. In English and Spanish.
Author: Pat Mora
Published: 2014
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
In English and Spanish
"This book contains a series of verses, in English and Spanish, about the movement and moods of water around the world, and the ways in which water affects a variety of landscapes and cultures"--Publisher's description.
Author: Carmen Tafolla; Magaly Morales (Illustrator)
Published: 2009
Location: Bethlehem
Text in Spanish and English
"A young Mexican American girl celebrates the paleta, an icy fruit popsicle, and the many roles it plays in her lively barrio"--Publisher's description.
Author: Muriel L. Feelings; Tom Feelings (Illustrator)
Published: 1985
Location: Bethlehem
"Presents a word, with English translation, for each of the twenty-four letters in the Swahili alphabet. A brief explanation of each word introduces an East African custom"--Publisher's description.
Author: Muriel L. Feelings; Tom Feelings (Illustrator)
Published: 1971
Location: Bethlehem
"The numbers one through ten in Swahili accompany two-page illustrations of various aspects of East African life"--Publisher's description.
Author: Uma Krishnaswami; Jamel Akib (Illustrator)
Published: 2003
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Text in English with some Hindi words.
"A child describes waiting for the monsoon rains to arrive -- and the worry that they will not come"--Publisher's description.
Author: Traci Sorell; Frane Lessac (Illustrator)
Year: 2018
Location: Bethlehem & Monroe
Text in English and some words in Cherokee.
"'Otsaliheliga' is a Cherokee word that is used to express gratitude. Journey through the year with a Cherokee family and their tribal nation as they express thanks for celebrations big and small. This book presents a look at modern Native American life as told by a citizen of the Cherokee Nation"--Publisher's description.
Author: Menena Cottin; Rosana Faria (Illustrator)
Published: 2008
Location: Bethlehem
"This title invites readers to imagine living without sight through remarkable illustrations created with raised lines and descriptions of colors based on imagery. Braille letters accompany the illustrations, and a full Braille alphabet offers sighted readers help reading along with their fingers"--Publisher's description.
Author: Judi Barrett; Ron Barrett (Illustrator)
Published: 1982
Location: Bethlehem
"Life is delicious in the town of Chewandswallow, where it rains soup and juice, snows mashed potatoes, and blows storms of hamburgers -- until the weather takes a turn for the worse"--Publisher's description.
Author: Mercer Mayer (Illustrator)
Published: 1999
Location: Bethlehem
"Little Critter forgets to do several things which are expected of him"--Publisher's description.
Author: Jerry Pinkney
Published: 2007
Location: Bethlehem
"A sweet little girl meets a hungry wolf in the forest while on her way to visit her grandmother"--Publisher's description.
Author: Ludwig Bemelmans
Published: 2000
Location: Bethlehem
"Madeline, smallest of the twelve little charges of Miss Clavel, wakes up one night with an attack of appendicitis"--Publisher's description.