SpartaCat is the NCC Library's online catalog. You can use it to find books, e-books, DVDs, online videos, and other materials that the Library owns.
Start by typing your topic in the search box.
If you know the exact title of the book you want, or would like to search by author's name, select one of these options from the drop-down menu.
After you click the SEARCH button, you can narrow down the list of results by making additional selections.
For example, if you're only interested in materials that can be viewed online, choose electronic books or online videos.
When you're looking at the list of search results, jump to the text of the e-book by using the link "Click here to read online." 
To find out more about a book or video, click on the title in the list of search results. The next screen will give you a detailed description and the information you will need to cite the item.
There is also another link to open the e-book at the bottom of the paragraph.
Need to find a book about education? Be sure to check out the Early Childhood Education (ECE) Collection in the Media Tower at Mack Library (Bethlehem campus), next to the children's book collection, or in the Children's Book section of the ESSA Library (Monroe Campus). Click on the "ECE Collection" tab in this guide for more information. There are also many books in the Stacks that contain information about early learning theory, child development, pedagogy, teaching methods, and much more.
Here is a general guide to finding education books in the Stacks, which are located in the call number range beginning with the letter "L."
For books covering developmental and educational psychology topics, go to the "BF" call number area of the Stacks.
This government document contains key indicators on all levels of education, from pre-kindergarten to secondary, and includes international comparisons. The indicators summarize important developments and trends using the latest statistics, which are updated throughout the year as new data becomes available. Spotlight indicators provide more in-depth analyses on selected topics. Updated annually. No longer collected in print. Available electronically.
Contains information on a variety of subjects within the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, enrollments, teachers, graduates, educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, international education, and research & development. Updated continually. No longer collected in print. Available electronically.
Author: Beryl Watnick
Year: 2018
Location: Bethlehem Reference & Online (eBook)
"This three-volume title examines education in America, with articles written by education experts and administrators on a wide range of topics, starting with a historical look at education, and including sections on education theory; psychology; law; government; school safety; diversity; curriculum; counseling; teaching methods; technology in education; testing; alternative education; teacher education; international perspectives, and more"--Publisher's description.
Author: James Banks
Year: 2012
Location: Bethlehem Reference
"The 'Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education' presents research and statistics, case studies, best practices, policies, and programs at pre- and post-secondary levels... Covers a range of topics, such as race, class, gender, religion, language, exceptionality, and the global dimensions of diversity as they relate to education"--Publisher's description.
Author: Thomas Hunt
Year: 2010
Location: Bethlehem Reference
"Educational reform is a topic rich with ideas, rife with controversy, and vital in its outcome for school patrons, educators, and the nation as a whole. With nearly 450 entries, these two volumes comprise the first reference work to bring together the strands of reform and reformers, and dissent and dissenters, in one place"--Publisher's description.
Author: Moncrieff Cochran (Editor)
Year: 2007
Location: Bethlehem Reference
As a groundbreaking contribution to its field, this four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices.
Even though Reference books can't be borrowed from the Library, you can still get information from them remotely by using Library to Go.
Just tell us which chapter, section, or page numbers you need, and we will scan those pages and send them to you by e-mail.
Send us your request for scanned pages by using the Library to Go request form.
When you are looking for scholarly research articles from reliable sources, be sure to include e-books in your search. To find e-books, start with SpartaCat (the Library's online catalog), then try the databases listed below.
Author: Nicola Yelland
Published: 2021
Location: Online
This book explores the multidisciplinary field of childhood studies through a uniquely global lens. It focuses on inquiries and investigations into the everyday lives of young children in the age range of birth to 8 years of age, giving space to their voices and involving interrogations about the various aspect of their lives.
Author: Cathy Nutbrown
Published: 2011
Location: Online
Explains the key ideas and issues in Early Childhood clearly and concisely, keeping students up-to-date with the latest developments in the field.
Author: Bernard Spodek; Olivia N. Saracho
Published: 2005
Location: Online
This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues.
Author: Louise Boyd Cadwell
Published: 2003
Location: Online
Building on her enormously popular book, Cadwell helps American educators understand what it means to use ideas from the Reggio Approach in their classrooms. In new and dynamic ways, Cadwell once again takes readers inside the day-to-day practice of a group of early childhood educators. This time she describes the growth and evolution of the work in the St. Louis Reggio Collaborative over the past 10 years"--Publisher's description.
Author: Mary Mayesky
Published: 2002
Location: Online
Uses creative activities and developmentally appropriate material to foster the educational growth of children through grade 5.
Need help with finding sources, searching databases, formatting citations, or deciding on a paper topic? The NCC Librarians are here for you.
Both the Mack Library (Bethlehem) and ESSA Library (Pocono) are open if you'd like to visit in person, or you can chat online with a Librarian no matter where you are! Go to the Library's home page and click on the orange "Ask the Librarian" tab to start chatting. 
To find out when we're open, take a look at the Library's hours.
For more ways to reach us, and answers to our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs), click here. You can also send an e-mail question to askthelibrarian@northampton.edu, or set up a private appointment with a Librarian by using the "Book A Librarian" request form.
We look forward to hearing from you!