Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EARL: Early Childhood Education

This guide is intended for use by students in the ECE program. It includes information for finding children's picture books in the Library collection. Original as published 12/2019

Research for ECE Courses

The NCC Libraries have a number of research sources that can be used with your ECE papers and assignments. Listed on this page is a sample of what is available to you:

  • Databases
  • Books
  • Reference Books
  • Citation Assistance

Don't be afraid to consult a librarian if you need extra assistance! Librarians are available at the Bethlehem Reference Desk from 8 AM to 9 PM Mondays through Thursdays, 8 AM to 5 PM on Fridays, and from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM on Saturdays. Be sure to bring your assignment requirements and the information that you've already gathered.

Library Databases

If your professor requires that you find articles for an assignment, then you want to use a library database.

These tools allow you to search for a topic in order to find articles that were first published in a newspaper, a popular magazine, or a scholarly journal.

The following databases are recommended for ECE research. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to enter a username and password. Use your MyNCC username and password.

Books

Need to find a book about education? Be sure to check out the Early Childhood Education (ECE) Collection in the Media Tower (click on that tab in this guide for more information). However, we have many books in the Stacks that give helpful education information. A few of those titles are highlighted below.

Here is a general guide to finding education books in the Stacks, which is under the letter "L."

  • L=Education (General)
  • LA=History of Education
  • LB=Theory & Practice of Education
  • LC=Special Aspects of Education
  • LD=Individual Institutions -- U.S.
  • LE=Individual Instutions -- America (except the U.S.)
  • LF=Individual Instutions -- Europe
  • LG=Individual Institutions -- Other locations
  • LH=College & school magazines and papers

Reference Books

Reference books are shelved in the Reference section, and cannot leave the library. These books are best used for research when factual background information is needed (like a definition or a biography). There are a number of education encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as the examples below.

Citing Sources

Visit the NCC Libraries or Learning Centers to pick up hard copies of our three citation handouts: MLA, APA, and Chicago. You may also view them at the links below:

Print Journals & Magazines

The Periodicals Tower in the Bethlehem Library contains the magazines & journals that we carry in print. These can be checked out for one week or photocopies can be made. Below are all of the Education journals & magazines that we have in print:

EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION
American Journal of Play
Child Development
Child Development Perspectives
Dimensions of Early Childhood
Early Childhood Education Journal
Early Childhood Research Quarterly
Exchange formerly Child Care Information Exchange
Instructor
YC: Young Children
Zero to Three

EDUCATION
Academic Leader
American Journal of Distance Education
Assessment Update
Change
Chronicle of Higher Education
Community College Journal of Research and Practice
Community College Review
Educational Technology
Equity and Excellence in Education
Harvard Educational Review
Instructor
Journal of Basic Writing
Journal of College Reading & Learning
Journal of College Science Teaching
Journal of College Student Retention
Journal of Computers in Mathematics and Science Teaching
Journal of Nursing Education
Mathematics and Computer Education
National Teaching and Learning Forum
New Directions for Community Colleges (Check SpartaCat for locations)
New Directions for Higher Education (Check SpartaCat for locations)
New Directions for Institutional Research (Check SpartaCat for locations)
New Directions for Student Services (Check SpartaCat for locations)
Nurse Educator
Nurse Education in Practice
Recruitment and Retention in Higher Education
School Arts
Teaching of Psychology
Teaching Professor
University Business

SPECIAL EDUCATION
Topics in Early Childhood Special Education

Sources for Book Reviews & Book Titles

There are many resources that list the best picture books for children, based on subject. Below are just a few available through the NCC Libraries.

Book review journals are also a great resource. These will give summaries of the newest books, often with age recommendations. The Bethlehem Library has the following book review journals in print, in the Periodicals Room:

  • Booklist
  • Library Journal
  • School Library Journal (only through September 2011; newer issues can be accessed via the ProQuest database)