Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EARL: Early Childhood Education

This guide is intended for use by students in the ECE program. It includes information for finding children's picture books in the Library collection. Original as published 12/2019

The Dornish Collection

The Dr. J. Robert and Alice R. Dornish Room houses a special collection of children’s books which are signed by the author and/or illustrator. Most are first editions, and some of the inscriptions feature drawings. The collection contains 1,303 items, including board books, picture books, chapter books, young adult novels, and movable toy books. 

Dr. Dornish spent most of his career as a professor of children’s literature at Kutztown University, and his wife Alice was a member of the Northampton faculty. He spent his free time at publishing trade shows and library conferences, where he developed friendships with many authors and illustrators. The books Dr. Dornish gave to Northampton represent only a fraction of the 15,000 titles he spent a lifetime collecting. 

We encourage you to take a tour of this fascinating collection, which includes titles by J.K. Rowling, Maurice Sendak, Jane Yolen, Rosemary Wells, Eric Carle, and many others. You’ll also see these timeless classics: 

·         Caldecott winner Sylvester & the Magic Pebble

·         Caldecott winner Olivia

·         Caldecott winner No, David!

·         Newbery winner Charlotte's Web

·         Newbery winner Sarah, Plain & Tall. 

Because these are rare books, they may not be checked out, but students are welcome to make an appointment to view the collection. While in the Dornish Room, food and beverages are not permitted, and book bags must be left outside the room in the Library office. For more information, or to arrange a visit, please contact the Library’s secretary, Karen Rose, at 610-861-5358 or send her an e-mail at krose1@northampton.edu