Below, browse general career guidance and profession-specific books from the library collections.
There Is Life after College by
New York Times Bestseller From the bestselling author of College Unbound comes a hopeful, inspiring blueprint to help alleviate parents' anxiety and prepare their college-educated child to successfully land a good job after graduation. Saddled with thousands of dollars of debt, today's college students are graduating into an uncertain job market that is leaving them financially dependent on their parents for years to come--a reality that has left moms and dads wondering: What did I pay all that money for? There Is Life After College offers students, parents, and even recent graduates the practical advice and insight they need to jumpstart their careers. Education expert Jeffrey Selingo answers key questions--Why is the transition to post-college life so difficult for many recent graduates? How can graduates market themselves to employers that are reluctant to provide on-the-job training? What can institutions and individuals do to end the current educational and economic stalemate?--and offers a practical step-by-step plan every young professional can follow. From the end of high school through college graduation, he lays out exactly what students need to do to acquire the skills companies want. Full of tips, advice, and insight, this wise, practical guide will help every student, no matter their major or degree, find real employment--and give their parents some peace of mind.
Find Your Thing by
"Author Lucy Whittington is on a mission -- she wants everyone in the world to do what they're brilliant at, and not just what they're 'good' at. Find out what you should be doing and how to make a living from it; take advantage of Lucy's expertise and follow her process for success; be inspired and gain real practical advice; receive guidance on taking your new business to the next level by creating your 'Star Plan'; and become famous for what you do." (Publisher's description)
Land Your Dream Career by
"Obtaining a college degree does not automatically result in a job, let alone a dream career. The authors show readers what they can do in college to successfully pave the way for future employment, and provide easy-to-follow strategies for effectively using time on campus to start building a career." (Publisher's description)
This Is How to Get Your Next Job by
"This guide offers advice on how job hunters should present themselves to potential employers. Even in a bad economy, companies have job openings they can't fill. Considering the millions of people who are out of work or unhappily employed, how can that be? What are job seekers doing to turn off employers? And what is it that employers want but aren't finding? The author, a career expert and syndicated columnist, asked employers one simple question: Why didn't you hire the last ten people you interviewed? What it came down to, every time, wasn't a matter of skills or experience, but how applicants seemed based on what they said or did." (Publisher's description)
Working in Your Major by
"In today's job market, competition for available positions is fierce: new graduates are competing with seasoned workers for jobs that used to be reserved for entry-level employees. Candidates must be adept at seeking out the right opportunities and be able to market themselves effectively to land the job. This book tackles the daunting problem faced by many new grads: successfully finding a job in their area of study after graduation." (Publisher's description)
50 Best College Majors for a Secure Future by
"This book contains descriptions of 50 college majors that are considered secure because they meet workplace needs that do not diminish, even during hard times. Specialized lists arrange these majors by the level of education required, career clusters, personality types, and other useful characteristics of the related jobs" (Publisher's description)
The 2-Hour Job Search by
"This book shows job-seekers how to work smarter (and faster) to secure first interviews. Through a prescriptive approach, author Steve Dalton explains how to wade through the Internet's sea of information and create a job-search system that relies on mainstream technology such as Excel, Google, LinkedIn, and alumni databases to create a list of target employers, contact them, and then secure an interview -- with only two hours of effort. " (Publisher's description)
The Artist's Compass by
"In this book, Rachel Moore, CEO of The Music Center in Los Angeles, shares how to make life as a performer more successful, secure, and sustainable by approaching a career in the arts like an entrepreneur. (Publisher's description) "
Careers in the Arts: Fine, performing, and visual by
"This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook.(Publisher's description)"
The Actor's Business Plan by
"The Actor's Business Plan is a self-directed practical guide for actors, using the familiar language of actor training. It employs a unique five-year life/career plan, giving positive steps to a happy life as an actor and as a human. It answers the common complaint by students that they were not prepared for "showbiz" after graduation, and can be used by teachers as well as actors to solve this problem. It is a must-have book for actors who are determined to be a part of the professional world. Aimed at actors looking to work in the USA, and surveying NYC and LA among other cities, the book discusses not only the "biz," but also issues that can destroy many actors' careers prematurely." (Publisher's description)
Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer by
"Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer is a single source guide to the myriad of options available to those pursuing a graphic design career. With an emphasis on portfolio requirements and job opportunities, this guide helps both students and individuals interested in entering the design field prepare for successful careers. Coverage includes design inspiration, design genres, and design education, with discussion of the specific career options available in print, interactive, and motion design." (Publisher's description)
Public Relations: the Basics by
"Public Relations: The Basics is a highly readable introduction to one of the most exciting and fast-paced media industries. Both the practice and profession of public relations are explored and the focus is on those issues which will be most relevant to those new to the field. Contemporary international case studies are woven throughout the text ensuring that the book is relevant to a global audience. It also features a glossary and an appendix on first steps towards a career in public relations making this the book the ideal starting point for anyone new to the study of public relations." (Publisher's description)
Architect? by
"He tells how an architect works and gets work, and explains all aspects of architectural services, from initial client contact to construction oversight.The author describes the benefits of becoming an architect, including the opportunity to express oneself creatively, to improve the environment, and to achieve notoriety. But he doesn't hesitate to show the other side--the lack of steady work and appropriate compensation, the intensity of competition, the restrictions imposed by clients, and the high degree of anxiety and disillusionment among young architects." (Publisher's description)
Becoming a Green Building Professional by
"Sustainable building and design continue to be significant growth areas in a down economy, and many building professionals are reinventing or distinguishing their careers with a focus on this ever-evolving area. Written by a green building and consulting professional with international experience, this book gives you access to everything you need to find your path in this exciting field." (Publisher's description)
Career Opportunities in Animation by
'Career Opportunities in Animation' describes 60 careers in many fields of animation, including art, backgrounds and layouts, design, directing, engineering, film and television animation, game and web design, painting and texturing, performing, producing, technical production, and writing." (Publisher's description)
Great Jobs for History Majors by 
A Guide to Study Skills and Careers in Criminal Justice and Public Security by 
Careers in Law Enforcement by
Johnson provides a valuable resource for anyone considering a career in the criminal justice field. He defines the variety of career paths, so that readers can develop sensible goals at the beginning of their degree program." (Publisher's description)
Master the Police Officer Exam by 
Health Careers Today by 
Career Paths in Psychology by
"This book describes 30 different graduate-level careers for those holding a Ph.D., Ed.D., or Psy.D. in three distinct areas of endeavor: academia; clinical and counseling psychology; and specialized settings, such as for-profit businesses, nonprofits, the military, and schools. Each chapter explores a different career, including typical daily activities; the approximate range of compensation; advantages and disadvantages of that career; opportunities for employment and advancement; and how to plan one's educational and professional experiences to prepare for this specialty." (Publisher's description)
Spa Bodywork by
"Whether you are a practicing massage therapist or a massage therapy student, you?ll find everything you need to know to incorporate multi-layered and multi-textured spa treatments into your massage practice with this book. Featuring new treatments and photos, the second edition helps you develop the skills you need to gain a competitive advantage when seeking work in the spa industry or adding spa treatments to your private practice. All treatments -- from salt and sugar glows to body polish to stone massage -- are covered in step-by-step detail, illustrated with photographs that show how to position the client, and how to apply products such as seaweed, essential oils, and mud." (Publisher's description)
Anderson's Nursing Leadership, Management, and Professional Practice for the LPN/LVN in Nursing School and Beyond by 
LPN to RN Transitions by 
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography by 
101 Careers in Public Health by 
101 Careers in Counseling by 
Education and Social Services by 
Becoming a Culinary Arts Professional by
"This book explores the paths to a culinary career, and addresses how to develop new skills, create a winning resumé, network, ace the 'kitchen smarts' interview, and more"--Publisher's description.
Careers in Hospitality and Tourism by
"Understanding the interconnected nature of the different and varied branches of hospitality and tourism is important for anyone preparing for a career in these fields. This book contains 25 chapters on a broad range of branches and divisions within these industry segments, including traditional and long-established fields such as Bartender, Hotel Manager, and Travel Agent, as well as in-demand and cutting-edge fields such as Fitness Trainer and Event Coordinator. This excellent reference also presents possible career paths and occupations within high-growth and emerging fields in these industries. " (Publisher's description)
How to Start a Home-Based Personal Chef Business by
"Everything you need to know to run a profitable and satisfying personal chef business from your home." (Publisher's description)
How to Start a Home-Based Bookkeeping Business by
"Create a successful business plan; set your rates; market your unique services; develop a network of clients; and navigate legal and ethical issues." (Publisher's description)