Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tutorials: Self-Paced & Popular Videos

Teach yourself research skills and strategies and learn how to search library collections and databases with these tutorials developed by our librarians.

Self-Paced

Library Orientation

Learn more about library services, collections, and spaces in this interactive tutorial, including how to utilize the libraries for borrowing materials, studying, and completing coursework, navigate the library website and start searches in our most popular search tools and get additional research help from a librarian.

Research Basics at NCC

Learn how to locate books, articles, and other information sources to complete your assignments successfully. Use only the modules you need, or work your way through all of them. Test your new knowledge in each module, or take the complete test at the end to earn a completion certificate.

Finding Literary Criticism

Learn about literary criticism and where you can find it in the library's collections and online. Test your new knowledge in each module, or take the complete test at the end to earn a certificate.

Popular Videos

SpartaCat (Library Catalog)

This 6-minute video reviews how to find books, movies, eBooks, and streaming videos in our collections with the library catalog.

EBSCO Discovery Service

This 3-minute video will show you how to conduct a search, narrow results, and locate a full-text article with the EBSCO Discovery Service search tool.

ProQuest Central

This 3-minute video will show you how to conduct a search, narrow results, and locate full-text articles in the ProQuest Central database.

Database Selection

In this 2-1/2 minute video, learn how to navigate the library's A-Z Database list to find the databases that best fit your research topic and needs. 

Finding an Original Scientific Research Article

This 6-minute video reviews how to find original scientific research articles, studies, and experiments with the library's EBSCO Discovery Service search tool. 

NCC Libraries on YouTube

View more video tutorials on the NCC Libraries YouTube channel.