LibGuides: Women & Gender Studies: Data, Statistics, & Other Websites

View suggested sources for data, statistics, and other women and gender-focused websites below.

Data & Statistics

Digital Transgender Archive
glbtq Archive Archive for what was once the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history.
International Center for Research on Women
Kinsey Institute
League of Women Voters This nonpartisan, political organization has been in effect since 1920. The group is dedicated to making changes to the current political system.
National Organization for Women (NOW) This feminist organization was founded in 1966. Its goal is to find and create equality for all women.
National Women's Law Center This group helps improve women's and families' working lives.
National Women's Studies Association This organization works on promoting the work in the women's and gender studies field. It also advocates teaching and research in this field.
UN Women
UN - The World's Women
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Office on Women's Health
U.S. Department of Labor - Women's Bureau This government office provides information on the state of working women in America, as well as information on policies regarding sexual harassment, minimum wage, and more.

Discovering American Women's History Online This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s. Maintained by Middle Tennessee State University.
National Women's History Alliance The National Women's History Project, founded in 1980, is an educational nonprofit organization. Our mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs.
National Women's History Museum Visit the online exhibits and take an in-depth journey through the history of women's suffrage in America.
Online Biographical Dictionary of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the United States The Online Biographical Dictionary of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the United States offers short biographies of about 3,670 women suffragists whose activism was concentrated in the period 1890-1920, but also occurred before and after those years.
Women Working, 1800-1930 From the Harvard University Library, this website explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and Great Depression using digitized books, images and pages from manuscripts.

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century A digital collection from the New York Public Library
National Museum of Women in the Arts View over 250 works by women artists from around the world.
National Women's Hall of Fame The mission of the Hall is "To honor women citizens of the United States whose contributions to the arts, athletics, business, education, government, the humanities, philanthropy and science have been of the greatest value for the development of the country."
Women's Sports Foundation

Crunk Feminist Collective A space for feminists to speak about issues.
Feminist.com This online community is dedicated to providing resources on "women's equality, justice, wellness and safety." Board members of the organization include Eve Ensler, Carol Gilligan, Gloria Steinem and Alice Walker.
Feministing Online community for young feminists
Feminist Majority Foundation This active organization states their mission: "our research and action programs focus on advancing the legal, social and political equality of women with men, countering the backlash to women's advancement, and recruiting and training young feminists to encourage future leadership for the feminist movement in the United States."
Ms. Magazine Feminist magazine since 1972, founded by women's rights pioneer Gloria Steinem