Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL: Philosophy & Religion: Online Videos

This Research Guide will help you find books, e-books, articles, and videos about topics related to Philosophy and Religion.

Finding Online Videos

Several of the Library's databases provide access to streaming video. To search for a film by title or topic, use the Library's catalog, SpartaCat, or select one of the databases below. You can also find videos about various aspects of Philosophy by going to the tab for each course in this research guide.

 

Britannica Academic -- This online encyclopedia includes short film clips that explain basic concepts in philosophy, religion, history, and other topics.

Films on Demand -- Contains film clips and full program episodes from a variety of nonfiction film and television producers, including the BBC, California Newsreel, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, History Channel, Ken Burns, National Geographic, HBO, and PBS Video, among others.

 

Kanopy Streaming -- Provides access to a curated collection of documentary films, selected by NCC faculty and produced by Media Education Foundation, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, and more.

Using Library Databases From Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link, then type the same user name and password that you use to open your "Student Workday" account. Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Online Videos About the History of Philosophy

A variety of films may be viewed online through the Films on Demand database. You may watch the programs listed here by clicking on each title, or you may search the database to find videos on your choice of topics. This list contains just a sample of the many subjects covered by Films on Demand!

Segments of the Great Philosophers series

Genius of the Ancient World series

Words of Change series