Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 151L: Literature: Finding eBooks

Need to write a research paper about a short story, poem, play, or novel? Use this guide to find library sources!

The library has a wide variety of eBooks available in our collection for your research. You can search for them in a few ways, including using SpartaCat (the NCC Library Catalog), EBSCO Discovery Service, or by searching specific eBook collections directly. 

Finding eBooks using SpartaCat

Basic Searching in SpartaCat

Keyword: If you are looking for a general topic (like "global warming"), it is best to start here. It will search the title, summary, table of contents, and publication information of each of our books for that word or phrase.

Author: If you are looking for books by a specific person, search here. For example, if you want to find books by Edgar Allan Poe, enter his name like this: Poe, Edgar Allan.

Title: If you know the specific title of a work, enter it here. For example, if you want a copy of the book On the Road, enter that title in this search box. 

Subject: Search the Subject Headings list. These are like #hashtags. They are the main word or phrase used to catalog the book and reflect what it is about.

 

Finding eBooks 

After you choose the type of search and enter your search terms (keywords), click "Search" to view the results page. Here, you can select "Electronic Resources" on the left-hand side. Once you have selected "Electronic Resources" click "Include."

In the results, eBooks will be tagged with the words Electronic Resource and their location will be Available.

 

Accessing our eBooks

To view an eBook from the search results page, click on the title of the work. This will open a window with more details about the item. To open the eBooks, look for the phrase "Electronic Resource: Click here to access"

Clicking this link will open the eBook in a new screen. You may be prompted to login with your MyNCC username and password before you can begin reading the book. 

Watch our SpartaCat eBooks Tutorial to see a demonstration. 

Spotlight on Library eBook Collections

You can search individual eBook collections directly as well. They're listed below, but also look for them on our Databases page (select "eBooks" from the drop-down menu titled "All Database Types").  

Highlighted Free eBook Collections on the Internet

There are many free, open access, publicly available eBooks collections on the Internet. Here are some of the most popular ones used for academic research: