Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LTA: Library Technical Assistant Program: LTA Program & Online Learning

LTA Program Information

For a description of the LTA program, including what courses are offered, please visit this page of the NCC website.

All students in this program have the same advisor: Sandra Sander is the director of Northampton Community College Library Services. You can reach her at ssander@northampton.edu or 610-861-5358.

Course Descriptions

LIBT 101 Introduction to Library Service (Cr3) (3:0)
This course introduces the history, function, organization, and services of various types of libraries. It covers library terminology and processes essential to public service.  Available through Online Learning.

LIBT 115 Reference Resources and Services (Cr3) (3:0)
This course introduces students to reference services and resources available in small public libraries. Student will explore the evaluation, selection and use of general and specific reference tools and the principles and practice of providing reference services.

LIBT 203 Technical Services (Cr3) (3:0)
This is an introduction to the elements of library technical services, including cataloging, classification, acquisitions, serials management, preservation, outsourcing and collection development and management. The student will be able to apply learned skills to perform collection analysis and to acquire, organize and manage both print and non-print materials. Available through Online Learning.

LIBT 207 Library Management (Cr3) (3:0)
This course introduces management principles for a small library. Topic include: administration, budgeting, policymaking, and partnerships related to library personnel, facilities, collections and services. Completion of LIBT101 is recommended prior to taking this course.  Available through Online Learning.

LIBT 209 Computers in Libraries (Cr3) (3:0)
This course is an introduction to the use of computers and technology in libraries, including Integrated Library System, electronic information resources, the Internet, websites and technology administration. Students will prepare to manage technology within the library setting. Completion of LIBT101 is recommended prior to taking this course.  Available through Online Learning.

LIBT 253 Literature for Children and Young Adults (Cr3) (3:0)
This course provides historical coverage of literature for children and young adults and includes criteria for the evaluation and presentation of books in all genres. The course will cover administration of children's services specifically planning, collection development, and programming. The course will also discuss issues and trends in children's services including multiculturalism, censorship, and technology. Available through Online Learning.

Online Learning

The Office of Online Learning is open Monday through Friday from 9:00am to 5:00pm. Please note that all of Northampton's campuses are closed on Fridays from late May through mid-August.

The office is located in Kopecek Hall Room 230 on the college's Main Campus. Call the office at 610-332-6089. You can also email them at onlinelearning@northampton.edu. Their fax number is 610-332-6595.

Technical Requirements

Technical Requirements

To take online courses at Northampton Community College, you will need the following:

  • A computer
    An Internet connection
    An email account (Note: You will receive a free NCC email account and it is strongly recommended that you use this account. NCC emails can be forwarded to personal accounts, if preferred.)
    An internet browser

You will need to be able to type on the computer to complete papers, emails and online discussions. If you cannot type, we recommend you learn how to type before enrolling in an online course. You must also have proficient reading and writing skills. The majority of communication in online learning courses is done in writing.

You should be comfortable using a word processing program such as Microsoft Word. You should be familiar with sending email and using basic functions such as "copy" and "paste."

Be able to utilize the NCC MyNCC email system for communication with your instructor and class.

Be able to budget your time and priorities. Online learning courses are NOT self-paced. They follow the semester calendar as far as registration, mid-terms, finals, etc. Homework and other assignments, tests and quizzes are due on a regular basis.

Note: NCC cannot assume responsibility for any technical problems that you may experience during the semester. You may use the computers that are available at any of the college's campuses. Public access computers are also available in public libraries.

Some courses use additional web based environments and supplements such as Collaborate® for online meetings with your instructor. Students will receive information on how to use these web-based environments from their instructor during the first week of classes.