SpartaCat, the NCC Library Catalog, is an online tool that allows you to search for items owned by the Library. This includes books, e-books, encyclopedias, streaming videos, audiobooks, print periodicals, and more.
You have the option of performing many different searches within the library catalog:
Keyword: If you are looking for a general topic (like "global warming"), it is best to start here. It will search the title, summary, table of contents, and publication information of each of our books and items for the word or phrase you enter.
Author: If you are looking for books by a specific person, search using this. For example, if you want to find books by Edgar Allan Poe, enter his name like this: Poe, Edgar Allan.
Title: If you know the specific title of a work, choose this option.
Subject: Search the Subject Headings list. These are like #hashtags. They are the main word or phrase used to catalog the book and reflect what it is about, but they may not appear in the title, summary, table of contents, or publication information the way a keyword would.
While these are the most popular, basic types of searches, you could use one of the other options listed (ISBN, Genre, Series Title, Call Number, or Periodical Title) if it fits your needs.
To find books on our shelves, you will need to know the call number and shelf location of the book. It is also helpful to know it's status. You can find this information by clicking on an item in your results list to view its details.
Stacks: The largest collection on the Bethlehem campus library's main floor.
Monroe: Items are at the ESSA Bank & Trust Foundation Library at Monroe campus.
Reference: An area for multi-volume encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. These books can only be used in the library, they cannot be checked out or borrowed.
Media Tower: Item is a DVD, VHS, or CD (although children's and young adult materials are in this location too) in the Bethlehem campus library.
Online: Digitial e-Book or streaming video viewed by clicking the access link.
New Books: A special section of the Libraries for recent additions to our collection.
Browsing: An area in the Bethlehem campus library for popular fiction and nonfiction titles and bestsellers.
On Shelf: the item is available or on the shelf.
Due xx/xx/xxxx: the item is currently checked out and loaned to someone else.
Circulation Desk - Main Campus: the item is currently on reserve and may be in-library use only, have a shorter loan period, or have other restrictions.
Monroe Reserve Desk: the item is currently on reserve and may be in-library use only, have a shorter loan period, or have other restrictions.
Watch our SpartaCat Tutorial to see a search demonstration.
NCC students: Your student ID card serves as your library card.
Bethlehem students: To obtain a student ID card, visit the second floor of College Center, CC200 (VP of Student Affairs office). If you are standing in Laub Lounge, the office is to your right. There is a sign above the hallway/doorway that says "Spartan Card."
Monroe students: Visit the Student Services office in order to obtain your student ID card.
There are many topics related to death care and funerals available in the library collection. Choose a subject from the following list to search for books in the library's collection using the library catalog, SpartaCat, to find books. See the box below for more directions.
Children and death
Funeral rites and ceremonies
Undertakers and undertaking
To locate subjects related to funeral service by call number range, please view the handout.