LibGuides: MDLA: Modern Languages &amp; ESLL: English as a Second Language: English as a Second Language

Library Databases with Translation Tools

The Gale databases provide translations of English-language text into a variety other languages, or allow you to listen to the text being read aloud. After you locate an article in the database, click on the tools shown below.

The EBSCOhost databases, including Academic Search Elite, APA PsycArticles, Business Source Elite, CINAHL, MasterFILE Premier, and SocINDEX, also have translation and listening tools (see icons to the right). You can change the language you use to search the database by selecting a different language from the drop-down menu shown below.

Online Videos for English Language Learners

The Films on Demand database offers a variety of instructional videos to help you learn a new language. These titles are just a sample to get you started!

Can Do: English-ELL -- This animated series offers 10 lessons on handling typical activities in English, including introducing yourself; making an appointment; buying tickets for public transportation; and checking in at a hotel.

Cutting Edge Communications: Basic English Series -- These lessons introduce phrases that are common to everyday conversations, covering topics such as meeting people; saying "thank you"; giving directions; making choices; asking for help; talking about feelings; and planning for the future.

Cutting Edge Communications: Simple English Series -- Topics covered in this series include directional words; using contractions; measuring time and quantity; describing illness; and reporting emergencies.

Standard Deviants School: ESL Series -- The Standard Deviants actors use humor to teach basic English language skills, including the use of pronouns, nouns, verbs, verb tenses, adjectives, and more.

Books for Learning English

English U.S.A. Every Day: A Fun ESL Guide to American Culture & Language by Martinez-Alba, Gilda.
Call Number: PE 1128 .M352 2017 ESL Collection
ISBN: 9781438009704
Publication Date: 2017
This book helps familiarize immigrants and ESL learners with American culture and language in a fun, lighthearted way. Each chapter includes new vocabulary and idioms that are common in the United States.
ESL Demystified by Swick, Ed.
Call Number: PE 1128 .S9773 2014 ESL Collection
ISBN: 9780071820776
Publication Date: 2014
Beginning with a review of vowel and consonant pronunciation, this book covers key grammar fundamentals such as auxiliary verbs, phrasal verbs, conjunctions, pronouns and possessives, and prepositions. Step-by-step, you'll understand the linguistic patterns found in English and quickly master the language. Listen to the audio disc and test yourself at the end of every chapter for reinforcement.
Fifty Common Errors: A Practical Guide for English Learners by Marsden, Bob.
Call Number: PE 1128 .M3426 2008 ESL Collection
ISBN: 9780877796817
Publication Date: 2008
This handbook covers 50 errors in usage, style, and syntax commonly encountered by English language learners in day-to-day speech and writing.
Firefly 5-Language Visual Dictionary: English, French, Spanish, Italian, German by Jourist, Igor.
Call Number: P 361 .C668 2016 ESL Collection
ISBN: 9781770857681
Publication Date: 2016
This dictionary covers five languages: English, French, Spanish, Italian, and German. Color illustrations help readers learn new words in a variety of subject areas, including food, clothing, housing, transportation, health, nature, and science.
Slang Rules: A Practical Guide for English Learners by Hargraves, Orin.
Call Number: PE 2846 .H36 2008 ESL Collection
ISBN: 9780877796824
Publication Date: 2008
This guide to American slang and its usage helps ESL students with speaking and writing in informal contexts. The author explains which words and phrases may be considered inappropriate or offensive, and common ways pronunciation changes when slang is used.