Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 151T: Technical Writing: Databases

Use this guide to find resources for ENGL 151T - Technical Writing.

Know Your Sources

Scholarly Journals

  • Articles are written by authorities in the field
  • Articles undergo a peer review process before acceptance for publication
  • Authors of articles always cite their sources
  • Example: New England Journal of Medicine

Magazines

  • Intended for a general audience
  • Articles are written by staff reporters
  • Articles are heavily illustrated, generally with photographs
  • No peer review process
  • Articles usually do not have references or a bibliography
  • Example: Newsweek, Time, National Geographic

Trade Journals

  • Articles are written by members of a profession or a technical writer
  • Credentials are not usually provided - no peer review process
  • Articles include terms commonly used in the profession or trade
  • Articles provide practical information for members, including news, trends, products & research summaries
  • Articles include a moderate number of advertisements targeted to the interests of the members of the profession or trade
  • Examples: Control Engineering, Electronic Design

What is EBSCO Discovery Service?

EBSCO Discovery Service is a tool that allows you to search a large portion of the Library's collection using a single search box. Your search will return articles from our databases, access to ebooks, streaming videos and information on print books at both the Bethlehem and Monroe Libraries.

Search EBSCO Discovery Service

Background Information

Use these databases to get good background information on your topic:

CQ Researcher:

Provides articles about controversial issues, both current and historical, in a wide variety of subject areas.

Facts on File:

Search for news articles with maps, photographs, and primary source documents. Find full-text articles on today's prominent issues in "Issues and Controversies". 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context:

Contains articles providing alternative points of view on controversial issues. Articles are full-text.

Subject Databases

Knovel

Technical books on food science, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, pharmaceuticals and more.

ForensicnetBase -

A collection of electronic books covering the areas of criminal justice, law enforcement, and forensic science in a searchable, full-text format.

ProQuest - Science & Technology

Includes full-text science & technology journals and searchable tables & figures.

 

Other subject databases are available at the Databases by Categories page.

General Subject Databases

Use ProQuest Direct and EBSCOhost to find articles in journals, magazines or newspapers. Both ProQuest and EbscoHost cover thousands of full-text articles in a variety of different subject areas.

A list of all library databases is available from the A-Z List of Databases.

Career Information

These databases will provide an overview of a prospective career:

Chronicle Career Library

Vocational Biographies

To access these databases off campus, please contact the Reference Desk at (610) 861-5359 for access information.