Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some suggested topics for your research paper assignment. More topics are available from this link.
- African Americans in the Revolutionary War
- African American soldiers in the Civil War
- African American women writers
- Black Migration
- Black Nationalism
- Black Power Movement
- Civil Rights Movement
- Media Images of African Americans
- Nation of Islam
- Poverty and African Americans
- Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC)
- Martin R. Delaney
- Fredrick Douglass
- W.E.B. DuBois
- Marcus Garvey
- Martin Luther King
- A. Philip Randolph
- Sojourner Truth
- Booker T. Washington
- Malcolm X
Library Sources Overview
This handout describes features of library databases related to African American history
What is EBSCO Discovery Service?
EBSCO Discovery Service is a tool that allows you to search a large portion of the Library's collection using a single search box. Your search will return articles from our databases, access to ebooks, streaming videos and information on print books at both the Bethlehem and Monroe Libraries.
Search EBSCO Discovery Service
Other Library Sources
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
The African American Experience is the widest ranging collection on African American history and culture represented in speeches, photos, reference articles, biographies, cultural documents and timelines about people, places, and events.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains articles and images from books covering all subjects. Also, it provides pro/con articles for topics.
Gale EBOOKS This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable eBooks, covering all subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles covering the Arts and Social Sciences.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable reference e-books covering history topics like milestones & great lives in history.
Gale in Context US History This link opens in a new window
Covers themes, trends, and people from United States history. Contains full text articles, maps and images, with many primary source documents.