Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECON: Economics: Databases & Periodicals

This guide will help you find information about Economics, including economic theories, statistical data, economic indicators, and biographical information about famous economists.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) -- The Super Database!

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is the most powerful database at the Library, allowing you to search many smaller databases all at once. Search results include:

  • Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers;
  • Descriptions of materials in the Library's collection, such as books and DVDs;
  • Links to online resources like e-books and streaming videos.

Be sure to click the box labeled "Limit to Full Text" in order to find the entire content of articles.

Using Library Databases From Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link, then type the same user name and password that you use to open your "Student Workday" account. Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Locating Industry Benchmarks

To find performance benchmarks for various industries, use the ProQuest database, as follows:

  1. Click on the link to ProQuest. If you're off-campus, you'll be asked to log in with your MyNCC information (student ID number and password).
  2. Select the tab labeled Browse.
  3. Under the first subject area (Business), click the plus sign (+) next to Industry & Market Research.
  4. Choose the category "First Research."
  5. The next screen will contain a list of industries. Scroll down until you see the one you want. Next to that category, click the link labeled "View # of documents."
  6. When you see the list of "Quarterly Update" documents, the most recent one will be at the top. You can view any of the "Quarterly Updates" or use the "Search Within" box to locate reports containing the word "benchmark."

 

Databases for Researching Economics & Business Topics

The Library databases listed below are recommended for researching a variety of topics, including business and economics. Depending upon the perspective you wish to take when writing about an issue, you may want to look for historical information, current news articles, or a combination of both. These descriptions of the databases will help you decide where to begin searching.

CQ Researcher -- Provides full-text articles about controversial topics, both current and historical, in a wide variety of subject areas. Materials are dated from 1923 to the present.

EBSCOhost -- Use this general subject database to find articles on a variety of topics from journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Most articles are available in full text. EBSCOhost is a good choice if you're looking for news articles about recent events. Scholarly economics journals are located in the "Academic Search Elite" and "Business Source Elite" modules.

JSTOR -- Contains scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects, many with an international perspective. Historical coverage for some titles includes past issues going back as far as 50 years.

Opposing Viewpoints -- This database presents different perspectives on a variety of controversial issues. Resources include magazine, journal and newspaper articles, video and audio news clips, and chapters from the Opposing Viewpoints book series. Use this database if you're writing an argumentative or persuasive paper (or speech), and would like to find information in a "pro and con" format.

ProQuest Central -- Use this general subject database to find articles on a variety of topics from journals, magazines and newspapers. Most articles are available in full text. If you want to find articles from a specific magazine or journal, ProQuest is the best place to start. Select the "Publications" search option to locate the magazine or journal, then use the "Search Within This Publication" box to find articles about your topic.

U.S. History: Gale in Context -- This database covers themes, events, and people from U.S. history. Resources include full-text articles, maps and images, and many primary source documents.

World History: Gale in Context -- This database covers themes, events, and people from global history. Resources include full-text articles, maps and images, and many primary source documents.

NEW research tool in Westlaw database!

The Westlaw database has added a new tool called Company Investigator. It provides access to a variety of corporate directory and financial information, and legal documents such as SEC filings, lawsuits, and analyses of potential liability. Here is where to find it on the Westlaw home page:

Finding Periodicals by Title

If you're interested in a particular journal or magazine, and want to find the Library database where it's located, use the Publication Finder. This tool allows you to search by title or subject, and will show you which database contains full-text coverage of each periodical.

Here's a brief selection of Economics journals that you may search in the NCC Library's databases.

EBSCOhost

  • International Journal of the Economics of Business
  • Journal of Economic Issues
  • Journal of Labor Economics
  • Journal of Post Keynesian Economics
  • Journal of the Economics of Business
  • Oxford Bulletin of Economics & Statistics
  • Problems of Economics
  • Quarterly Journal of Business & Economics
  • RAND Journal of Economics
  • Review of Economics & Statistics

JSTOR

  • Journal of Economic Integration
  • Journal of Economic Perspectives
  • World Review of Political Economy

ProQuest

  • American Economist
  • Atlantic Economic Journal
  • Business & Society
  • Critical Perspectives on International Business
  • Eastern Economic Journal
  • Enterprise & Society