Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History of English Langauge Assignment Overview
Students taking ENGL101 (English I) with Professor Julie Houston may have an assignment to research the background and components of the English language. The languages included are:
- Indo-European languages (the concept of large, related groups of languages across all continents)
- Anglo-Saxon (also know as Old English)
- Old Norse
- French -- from the Norman invasion in 1066
Additional details of the assignment will be provided by Professor Houston.
Keyword Suggestions and Search Strategies
The more specific you can be with your search the better. Searching for something general like OLD NORSE is likely to give you too many results.
Ask yourself, what do you want to know about your topic? Is there a certain group of people or even a location that you can concentrate on?
A better search strategy would be something like: OLD NORSE and INFLUENCE and ENGLISH
In library databases, be sure to always choose the full-text option, so that you can read the full article on the screen. You may also choose to check the scholarly / peer-reviewed option, if your instructor requires you to find scholarly articles.
Sometimes you will find that major world events will be the catalyst for the spread of your language. Examples include the Roman Empire and Catholic Church influencing the spread of Latin or the French settlers influence on the spread of French in Canada. To find the spark for the spread of any language, look for the who (emperor, king, religion) or the what (wars, conquests, exploration).
The online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica with access to primary sources, articled, biographies, media, an atlas, and a way to compare countries. A great tool for finding background information.
- Dictionary of Languages: Located in Britannica, this dictionary provides background information and context for many languages.
Credo Reference contains articles and images from books covering all subjects. Also, it provides pro/con articles for topics.
EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)
EBSCO Discovery Service searches multiple NCC Library databases, as well as our Library Catalog. Quickly discover the best articles and books on your research topic!
Gale in Context World History
Covers themes, trends, and people from world history. Contains full text articles, maps and images, with many primary source documents.
Full-text scholarly articles covering the Arts and Social Sciences.
One of the essential databases to your NCC research experience! Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full text.
Indo-European Tree (Partial)
Partial tree of Indo-European languages. Branches are in order of first attestation; those to the left are Centum, those to the right are Satem. Languages in red are extinct. White labels indicate categories / un-attested proto-languages.
Online Etymology Dictionary
The Online Etymology Dictionary is a free online dictionary, written and compiled by Douglas Harper that describes the origins of English-language words.