Books often provide a focused, in-depth, thorough overview of a topic. They provide detailed information, context, and analysis. Books are well suited for historical issues, however, there are books available on a wide range of current topics as well.
Use this page to learn how to find books and eBooks in the libraries using SpartaCat (the Library Catalog), understand what reference books are and why they may be helpful for research, see samples of books in the library collections, and find out what to do if the library doesn't have a book that you need.
SpartaCat, the NCC Library Catalog, is an online tool that allows you to search for items owned by the Library. This includes books, e-books, encyclopedias, streaming videos, audiobooks, print periodicals, and more.
You have the option of performing many different searches within the library catalog:
Keyword: If you are looking for a general topic (like "global warming"), it is best to start here. It will search the title, summary, table of contents, and publication information of each of our books and items for the word or phrase you enter.
Author: If you are looking for books by a specific person, search using this. For example, if you want to find books by Edgar Allan Poe, enter his name like this: Poe, Edgar Allan.
Title: If you know the specific title of a work, choose this option.
Subject: Search the Subject Headings list. These are like #hashtags. They are the main word or phrase used to catalog the book and reflect what it is about, but they may not appear in the title, summary, table of contents, or publication information the way a keyword would.
While these are the most popular, basic types of searches, you could use one of the other options listed (ISBN, Genre, Series Title, Call Number, or Periodical Title) if it fits your needs.
To find books on our shelves, you will need to know the call number and shelf location of the book. It is also helpful to know it's status. You can find this information by clicking on an item in your results list to view its details.
Stacks: The largest collection on the Bethlehem campus library's main floor.
Monroe: Items are at the ESSA Bank & Trust Foundation Library at Monroe campus.
Reference: An area for multi-volume encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. These books can only be used in the library, they cannot be checked out or borrowed.
Media Tower: Item is a DVD, VHS, or CD (although children's and young adult materials are in this location too) in the Bethlehem campus library.
Online: Digitial e-Book or streaming video viewed by clicking the access link.
New Books: A special section of the Libraries for recent additions to our collection.
Browsing: An area in the Bethlehem campus library for popular fiction and nonfiction titles and bestsellers.
On Shelf: the item is available or on the shelf.
Due xx/xx/xxxx: the item is currently checked out and loaned to someone else.
Circulation Desk - Main Campus: the item is currently on reserve and may be in-library use only, have a shorter loan period, or have other restrictions.
Monroe Reserve Desk: the item is currently on reserve and may be in-library use only, have a shorter loan period, or have other restrictions.
Look for the Item Type search result limiter.
Select Electronic Books and click Include to add this limiter or filter to your search.
This removes any and all items that are not eBooks from your search results.
In the results, eBooks will be tagged with the words Electronic Resource and their location will be Online. To view an eBook from the search results page, use the link labeled Click Here to Read Online. This Click Here to Read Online link also appears on the eBook's Item Details (or summary) page.
Clicking this link will open the eBook in a new screen. You may be prompted to login with your MyNCC username and password before you can begin reading the book.
Watch our SpartaCat Tutorial to see a search demonstration.
Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides are excellent for background information about your topic. They could include overviews, histories, people, events, statistics, and basic facts. Some cover a large variety of subjects while others just focus on topics within a specific subject area.
Reference books that may be useful for your research are not always easy to identify by searching SpartaCat since they contain information about many different topics and ideas within a subject or discipline.
Instead, you may find it's useful to browse the reference collections at each library by looking in the subjects that your topic falls within. If you find a book in the Stacks or Circulating collections, look in Reference in that same call number area to see if there is a reference book that may have information about your topic.
If you find a reference book or series that looks promising, check the table of contents, listing of entries, or index (which might be an entire book on its own) to find the exact volumes or pages of the section on your topic.
The library also has databases with online reference information. See the Articles in Library Databases tab for more.
Our Library to Go and Library to Go PLUS service for students, faculty, and staff lets you request items from our physical collections for free UPS delivery or library pickup. Portions of library materials may be scanned for email delivery or our Digital Reserves system through Blackboard.
You can search individual eBook collections directly as well. A few of our most popular ones are highlighted below. You can also look for them, and others using the eBook database type filter on our Databases list.
There are many free, open access, publicly available eBooks collections on the Internet. Here are some of the most popular ones used for academic research:
You may discover a book that would be useful for your topic, only to find that the library does not have it in our collection.
If that happens, you can submit an interlibrary loan request, and we will see if another library that has the book would be willing to lend it to us to lend to you. Plan ahead - interlibrary loan books may take up to two weeks to arrive.
Speak to a librarian if you need help with the request.