LibGuides: Geography (GEOG): Starting Points

Find Background Information

The following library databases contain reference information that can be used to gain familiarity with your topic, gather search keywords, narrow your research question, provide context, or identify experts on the topic. They may be appropriate to cite, depending on the source guidelines your professor has given you, or you may just use the information you find in these to guide you and give you ideas for further searches.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference contains articles and images from books covering all subjects. Also, it provides pro/con articles for topics.
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window This encyclopedia contains information on many topics, as well as images and biographies.
Gale EBOOKS This link opens in a new window A collection of searchable eBooks, covering all subjects.
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window This database covers all of your science needs! All branches of science, including health and medicine, are represented. Current and controversial science topics are also covered here.
Salem Online This link opens in a new window A collection of ebooks covering business, careers, health, history, science, controversial issues, and social sciences.

Advice for Using Google and Wikipedia for Background Information

At this point in your research, you might also choose to do a general Google search for relevant websites or read Wikipedia articles related to your topic, but you will need to be very cautious as you do so. While this practice can be helpful to see how you might develop your research, narrow your topic, or even give you ideas of search keywords to use, for academic research, it is unlikely that you will want or be able to use or cite any information from a Wikipedia article. Any websites would need to be critically evaluated for credibility, and you will also want to check any source guidelines your professor has given you.