Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Sources: Primary Sources in the Arts

NCC Libraries guide to finding Primary Source materials.

Primary Sources in the Arts

There are many wonderful, primary source collections in the arts available online.  Please see below for some of our favorites!

Primary Sources in the Arts

Archives of American Art-Smithsonian

Dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

Cities and Buildings Online

A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world.

Getty Research Institute 

Use online Getty research tools and learn how to access Research Library collections.

Library of Congress Digital Collections: Performing Arts

Large collection of material that details the history of music, dance and theater in the U.S.

The Louvre for Teachers

Educator resources through The Louvre.

Musee d'Orsay Online Resources

Research the history of art through the Musee d'Orsay's collections.

Museum of Modern Art Research and Learning Archives

The Museum of Modern Art Archives is an internationally recognized research center for modern and contemporary art.

Van Gogh Museum

Explore the Van Gogh Museum from home!

World Digital Library: Arts

Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.