Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Sources: Historical Primary Source Collections

NCC Libraries guide to finding Primary Source materials.

Primary Sources for Historical Research

Please see below for essential primary source collections for historical research.

Primary Sources for American Historical Research

American History and Culture

Explore American history and culture through the Smithsonian!

American Indians

Primary Source materials from the National Archives on American Indians from the 18th through the 21st centuries.

American Presidency Project

Incredible collection of primary source documents on the presidency.

The American Revolution

Primary sources on the American Revolution from DocsTeach & the National Archives.

American Revolution-Making the Revolution

Primary Sources on the revolutionary war from the National Humanities Center.

Chronicling America

Search America's historic newspapers for primary sources on historical events.

Civil Rights Digital Library

The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources.

Civil Rights Movement Archive

Includes primary source material on the entire scope of the Civil Rights Movement.

Civil War: Primary Sources and Online Teaching Tools

Civil War primary source collection through DocsTeach from the National Archives. 

Cornell Making of America Collection

The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Documenting the American South

Primary source materials on the history of the Southern United States.

The Vietnam War

Primary source materials that chronicle The Vietnam War from the National Archives.

9/11 Terror Attacks

Primary Sources from the 9/11 memorial and museum.

 

Primary Sources for World History

Africa Through a Lens

Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history.

British History Online

Primary source materials from throughout British history.

Chinese Cultural Revolution Posters

Collection of posters from the cultural revolution era.

Digital History Reader

Explores links between European and world history in the late nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Documenting Democracy: Australia

Collection of the founding documents of Australia.

EuroDocs

One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. 

Historic Mexican and Mexican American press

The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications.

History of Russia: Primary Documents

Chronological history of Russia.

The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Record

Government documents, transcripts of speeches by government leaders.

North Korea Propaganda Posters

Collection of North Korean political posters.

South Asia Open Archives

 South Asia Open Archives is a free open-access resource for research and teaching.