Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSYC: Psychology: PSYC 235 Developmental Child & Adolescent Psychopathology

This guide is intended to help students with research assignments about psychology.

Explore this page for research help specific to PSYC 235: Developmental Child and Adolescent Psychopathology. Find topic ideas, learn search strategies, and see highlighted resources from our library collections and recommended websites.

Search Strategies

Search Keywords

Choosing the right search words or keywords or combination of keywords can help you find the most useful sources for your topic quickly. 

SpartaCatthe library's catalog, searches in the title, summary, publication details, and table of content information for your search keywords. It does not search the text or content of the items themselves. Thus, searching for something too specific may not give you a lot of results. Searching for major concepts and broad ideas like OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE DISORDER will lead you to books that you can then use the table of contents and indexes of to find more specific information about your topic. 

In the library databases, the more specific you can be with your search, the better. Keyword searches here look for any instance of that word in the title, summary, publication information, or full-text of articles and information sources. Being precise and exact with your search keywords makes a difference. Searching for something general like OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE DISORDER is likely to give you too many results.

Ask yourself, what do you want to know about your topic? Is there a certain group of people or even a location that you can concentrate on? A better search strategy would be something like: OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE DISORDER and FAMILY THERAPY and CHILDREN

 

Search Filters

In library databases, be sure to always choose the Full-Text option, so that you can access and read the full article immediately. You may also choose to check the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) option, if your instructor requires you to find scholarly articles. Other search filters, like Publication Date or Source Type, might also help.

Remember that the APA PsycARTICLES database allows you to choose an Age Group in addition, which is especially helpful for this class. For more about this database, see the Articles in Library Databases page of this guide. 

Highlighted Resources from the Library Collections

Need some inspiration to help you decide on a specific topic to research? See some highlighted resources below. 

Interested in borrowing one or more of these items? Our physical collections are not accessible to the public this semester, but you can request items using our Library to Go and Library to Go PLUS service. Entries and chapters of titles in the reference collections will need to be digitally scanned. Work with a librarian if you have questions or need help. 

Biographies and Memoirs

A Drinking Life

Alcoholism

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Look Me in the Eye

Asperger's Syndrome

Available at Bethlehem

Raising Cubby

Asperger's Syndrome

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Hurry down Sunshine

Bipolar Disorder
Manic Depression

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

An Unquiet Mind

Bipolar Disorder
Manic Depression

Available at Bethlehem

My Lobotomy

Psychosurgery
Lobotomy

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Prozac Nation

Depression

Available at Bethlehem

ADHD & me : what I learned from lighting fires at the dinner table

Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

 

The Reason I Jump: the inner voice of a thirteen-year-old boy with autism

Autism
Autism spectrum disorder

Available at Bethlehem

DVDs and Films

The United States of Autism

Autism
Autism Spectrum Disorder

DVD available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Child development theorists: Freud to Erikson to Spock and beyond

Theories and Theorists

Streaming online through Films on Demand

The autism enigma

Autism
Autism Spectrum Disorder

DVD available at Bethlehem and Monroe

book

Intricate minds: understanding classmates with Asperger Syndrome

Asperger Syndrome
Autism Spectrum Disorder

DVD available at Bethlehem and Monroe

book

Anxiety disorders

Anxiety
Anxiety disorders
Obsessive-compulsive disorder
Post-traumatic stress disorder

DVD available at Bethlehem and Monroe

book

Dealing with social anxiety

Anxiety
Anxiety Disorders

DVD available at Bethlehem.

Two Worlds, One Planet

Asperger Syndrome
Autism Spectrum Disorder

DVD available at Bethlehem.

Mental Health and Mental Illness

What Is Mental Illness?

Mental illness
Mental health

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Childhood Psychological Disorders

Mental Illness
Child mental health
Child psychology

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook

Available online and in print at Bethlehem and Monroe

Child Temperament

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Psychology and Behavioral Health

5 volumes

Available online and in print at Bethlehem in Reference

Childhood Diseases and Disorders Sourcebook

Includes a chapter on Conduct Disorder

The Health Care System

Health care
Medical care

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Neurodevelopmental Disorders

ADHD Does Not Exist

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Ad/Hd and the College Student

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Autism and the Family: understanding and supporting parents and siblings

Autism
Autism spectrum disorders
Family relationships

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Handbook of Learning Disabilities

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Learning Disabilities Sourcebook

Available online and in print at Bethlehem

Anxiety and Depression

Depression Sourcebook

Available online and at Bethlehem and Monroe

Depression and Your Child

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Depression

Available at Bethlehem

Depression: a very short introduction

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Depression 101

Available online

Anxiety: A Very Short Introduction

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Phobias: the psychology of irrational fear

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Other Disorders

Stress-Related Disorders Sourcebook

Available online and in print at Bethlehem in Reference

Will My Kid Grow Out of It?: a child psychologist's guide to understanding worrisome behavior

Includes chapter on oppositional defiant and conduct disorder

Available at Bethlehem

The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Your Child Does Not Have Bipolar Disorder

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

When the Sun Bursts: the enigma of schizophrenia

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Surviving Schizophrenia

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Beyond Schizophrenia

Available at Bethlehem

Eating Disorders Sourcebook

Available online and in print at Bethlehem and Monroe

Anorexia and Bulimia

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Eating Disorders

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe

Dying to Please

Available at Bethlehem

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder Demystified

Available at Bethlehem and Monroe