For students in Professor Jennifer Bradley's PSYC 265 classes.
Students in the Honors section of this course, you will receive an assignment to read a memoir. Please see below for memoirs that are available in the NCC Library. If you need help locating a book, just ask a library staff member!
I Am Malala: the girl who stood up for education and was shot by the Taliban by 
Half the Sky : turning oppression into opportunity for women worldwide by 
I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced by 
Bone Black : memories of girlhood by 
Becoming a Man : half a life story by 
Little Princes : one man's promise to bring home the lost children of Nepal by 
Girls Like Us : fighting for a world where girls are not for sale, an activist finds her calling and heals herself by 
Rethinking Normal: a memoir in transition by 
Some Assembly Required: the not-so-secret life of a transgender teen by 
A Thousand Sisters: my journey into the worst place on earth to be a woman by 
Mayada, Daughter of Iraq : one woman's survival under Saddam Hussein by 
Crazy Brave by 
Kabul Beauty School: an American woman goes behind the veil by 
My Forbidden Face : growing up under the Taliban : a young woman's story by 
Zoya's Story : an Afghan woman's struggle for freedom by 
Prisoner of Tehran by 
The Convert: a tale of exile and extremism by 
The Girls Come Marching Home: stories of women warriors returning from the war in Iraq by 
Lean In: women, work, and the will to lead by 
The Road to Someplace Better : from the segregated South to Harvard Business School and beyond by 
Power Concedes Nothing: one woman's quest for social justice in America from the courtrooms to the kill zones by 
This Child Will Be Great: memoir of a remarkable life by Africa's first woman president by 
My Beloved World by 
Grace and Grit: my fight for equal pay and fairness at Goodyear and beyond by 
Extraordinary, Ordinary People by 
A Fighting Chance by 
Band of Sisters: American women at war in Iraq by Choosing the right search words or keywords or combination of keywords can help you find the most useful sources for your topic quickly.
SpartaCat, the library's catalog, searches in the title, summary, publication details, and table of content information for your search keywords. It does not search the text or content of the items themselves. Thus, searching for something too specific may not give you a lot of results. Searching for major concepts and broad ideas like GENDER or GENDER ROLES will lead you to books that you can then use the table of contents and indexes of to find more specific information about your topic.
In the library databases, the more specific you can be with your search, the better. Keyword searches here look for any instance of that word in the title, summary, publication information, or full-text of articles and information sources. Being precise and exact with your search keywords makes a difference. Searching for something general like GENDER ROLES is likely to give you too many results.
Ask yourself, what do you want to know about your topic? Is there a certain group of people or even a location that you can concentrate on? A better search strategy would be something like: GENDER ROLES and MASCULINITY and STRESS
Looking for violence against women?
Try the additional search keywords: domestic violence, family violence, sex trafficking, sex slavery
Gender roles?
Try: work-family experience, media depictions, women's roles, men's roles, male and female roles, social psychology
Equality in the workplace?
Try: equal pay, fairness, glass ceiling, sex discrimination, pay equity, wages, wealth gap
Gender identity?
Try: transgender, binary, gender non-conformity
Communication?
Try: gendering talk, gendering communication, interpersonal communication
In library databases, be sure to always choose the Full-Text option, so that you can access and read the full article immediately. You may also choose to check the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) option, if your instructor requires you to find scholarly articles. Other search filters, like Publication Date or Source Type, might also help.
Remember that the APA PsycARTICLES database allows you to choose an Age Group in addition, which is especially helpful for this class. For more about this database, see the Articles in Library Databases page of this guide.