Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PARL: Paralegal Studies: Databases & Handouts

This guide will help you locate and use legal resources owned by the Paul & Harriett Mack Library at Northampton Community College.

Databases for Paralegal Studies

Statutes, Administrative Codes, Case Law, and Other Research Materials

Westlaw provides full-text access to a vast collection of statutes, case law material, public records, and other legal resources, including the U.S. Code Annotated; U.S. Supreme Court decisions; Pennsylvania Code; Purdon's Pennsylvania Statutes; American Jurisprudence 2d; and American Law Reports.

Westlaw may be used remotely, or at any computer located on the Northampton Community College network, including those in the libraries, computer labs, dormitories, and offices. To log in from off-campus, enter your "Student Workday" user name and password. Faculty should use the same login procedure that they do when on campus.

If you have difficulty logging in or downloading documents, it may be an issue with the pop-up blocker on your Internet browser. To find a list of browsers that are compatible with the Westlaw database, click the PDF document "Browsers to Use with Westlaw" in the column to your right.

If you need help configuring your browser, call the NCC Information Technology Help Desk at (610) 861-5413.

 

Legal Forms

Dunlap-Hanna Pennsylvania Forms is a searchable database containing more than 5,300 forms used most often by Pennsylvania attorneys. In addition to coverage of broad areas of substantive law, you will find an extensive set of litigation forms. Each form is preceded by explanatory notes on practicing law in Pennsylvania. Discussions, cautionary notes, and references to other sources are also included.

The Dunlap-Hanna database is available on all student computers at the Mack Library (Bethlehem campus), including those in the Computer Tower, Library Classroom, main room, Media Tower, and study rooms. You must have your student ID card to reserve a study room.

Note: The Dunlap-Hanna database is not available on the Library's laptops.

Using Library Databases From Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link and when prompted, enter the same user name and password you use to open your "Student Workday" account. Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Please note that the Dunlap-Hanna PA Forms database cannot be used from off-campus. You must be in the Mack Library (Bethlehem campus), to use it on one of the Library's computers, or in classroom Founders 116.

PARL 101 Library Orientation Slideshow

Would you like to review the Library orientation session for PARL 101? Here are the slides. For best results, save the slides to your desktop before viewing them.

NEW research tools in Westlaw!

The Westlaw database has added a new tool called Company Investigator. It provides access to a variety of corporate directory and financial information, and legal documents such as SEC filings, lawsuits, and analyses of potential liability. Here is where to find it on the Westlaw home page:

 

There are also two new collections of documents linked directly to this page, concerning Civil Rights and COVID-19.

 

 

The Civil Rights documents cover topics such as police misconduct, malicious prosecution, the First Amendment right to protest, and voting rights.

The COVID-19 materials are categorized as follows:

  • Federal legislation
  • Presidential proclamations and Executive orders
  • Administrative decisions and guidance
  • Cases
  • Court emergency orders and information
  • Regulations
  • State statutes.