Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Checking in with the NCC Libraries

Updated Student Research Workshops Hosted by the Libraries in Spring 2022

by Cassandra Nieves on 2021-11-23T16:35:00-05:00 | Comments

As the Fall term winds down, we look forward to the upcoming Spring semester. With that spirit in mind, the NCC librarians are pleased to announce our student workshops will be returning in Spring 2022. We have absorbed feedback from both students and faculty, and are happy to present a series of updated workshops for all students!

Each workshop is designed to cover different aspects of information literacy and research skills - from choosing information sources to using specific research resources (databases, scholarly/credible sources, library catalog etc.). The workshops can be used as a learning activity outside of class time (maybe even for extra credit) or take place of the library instruction session you've been having trouble fitting into your syllabus.

Each workshop is being offered virtually, with a handful being offered in person at both the Bethlehem and Monroe Campuses. The times and dates of each workshop can found on the Library Events Calendar.

Not sure if the workshops are the right choice for your course? We can still work with you and your students through library, research, or information literacy classes, embedded librarians, video and self-guided tutorials, or other learning materials. Send any questions to askthelibrarian@northampton.edu

Here's what we have planned for Spring 2022:

Library Orientation

Whether this is your first semester at NCC or your last, attend our library orientation to learn more about our services, collections, and spaces. See what’s changed, what’s new, and (re)connect with some of your NCC librarians. We’ll show you how to:

  • utilize the libraries for borrowing materials, studying, and completing coursework
  • navigate the library website
  • find library books and other items using SpartaCat (the library catalog)
  • start a basic search for online sources with EBSCO Discovery Service
  • get additional research help from a librarian this semester

Getting Started with a Research Topic

Stuck trying to choose a topic or find something interesting within your professor’s prompt? In this session, we’ll help you:

  • learn strategies for choosing a good research topic and show you where to look for inspiration
  • collect and generate search keywords once you’ve chosen a topic
  • learn how to do preliminary and exploratory searching to find background information
  • determine how to focus your topic and make adjustments as you learn more about it

We’ll also discuss how to recognize topics that don’t lend themselves to research and how to pivot when a topic you’ve chosen isn’t going to work for your assignment.

Searching Library Databases and Collections with SpartaCat, Databases, and EBSCO Discovery Service

The library’s print and digital collections are available at your fingertips! In this session, learn how to perform searches with SpartaCat (the library catalog) and EBSCO Discovery Service and how to navigate our Databases list to choose an individual digital collection that fits your topic and specific needs.

Psychology Research Starter Kit: 5 Resources Most-Used by Librarians

Looking for psychology information, especially journal and magazine articles? Discover the NCC Librarians' five favorite psychology resources and learn search strategies and tips for using each one. We’ll cover:

  • the DSM-5
  • APA PsycArticles
  • Frontiers In...
  • PLOS One
  • Psychology Today

In addition, we’ll also explain the basics of citing and documenting sources with APA citation style.

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources

Do you have a research paper assignment and your professor says use “scholarly sources?” Did they also mention something about “peer-reviewed articles?” This workshop will go over:

  • What scholarly and peer-reviewed sources are and how to identify them.
  • Finding scholarly/peer-reviewed articles in the library databases.
  • Time-saving tips for reading and using them in your assignment.

Selecting and Evaluating Sources

Trying to decide which information sources to use for an assignment can be difficult. Books, journals, websites – does it really matter which you cite from? It can, so we’ll help you recognize the differences. In this workshop, we’ll discuss:

  • commonly used information sources in academic and college research
  • types of author expertise
  • misinformation and bias evaluation criteria and lateral reading to determine credibility
  • determining relevance (matching your need with a source type)

Say What! Finding the Best Resources for your Speech

Did you know that different types of speeches require different types of information sources? Join us as we discuss the different types of speeches (informative, persuasive, and demonstrative) and the best places to find reliable sources for each. During this workshop we will look at:

  • The three different types of speeches you may need to present
  • Different types of sources available
  • How to choose the best source, whether it be a library database of a website, for your topic
  • What to do when your topic does not have obvious results in the databases
  • Evaluating sources
  • Citations

We will not be discussing how to give a speech. That information should be covered in class with your instructor.

Digging into the Westlaw Database

Discover the (information) treasures hidden in Westlaw! Need to learn more about a law? From the Constitution to Supreme Court decisions to Pennsylvania statutes, Westlaw has it all. Whether you're vetting a company you'd like to invest in, or seeking political news coverage from an international perspective, Westlaw is the database for you. Students interested in the Criminal Justice, Political Science, Business, Journalism, or Paralegal fields are encouraged to attend.

Business and Industry Research

The NCC Libraries have specialized databases and other tools to help you investigate companies, perform a S.W.O.T. analysis, develop demographic predictions, and create a marketing plan. Students taking Business, Marketing, and Economics courses will benefit most from this workshop, but all majors are welcome!

Finding Criticisms on Literary Work

Calling all English II students! Picture this: you've been assigned a research paper in your English II class. You have a ton of great ideas and thoughts about the story/poem you are writing about, but your professor is requiring you to back up your ideas with literary criticisms. What now? Let your librarians help guide you through the process of identifying and locating literary criticism.

Locating Scientific Journals and Articles

Do you need to find a scientific article that has original research for your Biology class? Not sure what it is or where to find it? Come to this workshop to learn about this specific type of article and how to find it using library resources.

 

 

 

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...