Skip to Main Content

VETC: Resources for the Veterinary Technician Program: Books

List of resources available from the NCC Library for the Vet Tech Program

Using SpartaCat (the Library Catalog)

SpartaCat, the NCC Library Catalog, is an online tool that allows you to search for items owned by the Library. This includes books, e-books, encyclopedias, streaming videos, audiobooks, print periodicals, and more.

You have the option of performing many different searches within the library catalog:

           

Basic Searching in SpartaCat

image of search options in SpartaCatKeyword: If you are looking for a general topic (like "global warming"), it is best to start here. It will search the title, summary, table of contents, and publication information of each of our books and items for the word or phrase you enter.

Author: If you are looking for books by a specific person, search using this. For example, if you want to find books by Edgar Allan Poe, enter his name like this: Poe, Edgar Allan.

Title: If you know the specific title of a work, choose this option.

Subject: Search the Subject Headings list. These are like #hashtags. They are the main word or phrase used to catalog the book and reflect what it is about, but they may not appear in the title, summary, table of contents, or publication information the way a keyword would.

While these are the most popular, basic types of searches, you could use one of the other options listed (ISBN, Genre, Series Title, Call Number, or Periodical Title) if it fits your needs.


Finding Books in the Library Collections

To find books on our shelves, you will need to know the call number and shelf location of the book. It is also helpful to know its status. You can find this information by clicking on an item in your results list to view its details, and then scrolling to the availability section. 

image of item location information in SpartaCat


Common Shelf Locations           

Stacks: The main collection of borrowable books in the libraries. Note the campus location indicated here.         
Reference: An area for multi-volume encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. These books can only be used in the library, they cannot be checked out or borrowed. Note the campus location indicated here.

Reserves: Items set aside at the Circulation or Information Desk for specific courses. They may be in-library use only, have a shorter loan period, or have other restrictions. Note the campus and desk location indicated here.  
Media Tower: The item is a DVD, VHS, or CD (although children's and young adult materials are in this location too) in the Bethlehem campus library.   
Online: A digitial e-Book or streaming video viewed by clicking the provided access link.            
New Books: A special section of the libraries for recent additions to our collection. Note the campus and desk location indicated here.
Browsing: An area for popular fiction and nonfiction titles and bestsellers. Note the campus and desk location indicated here.

Periodicals: A section of the libraries with print magazines and journals. Note the campus and desk location indicated here.


Common Statuses for Library Items

On Shelf: the item is available or on the shelf. 
Due xx/xx/xxxx: the item is currently checked out and loaned to someone else. It is expected back to the library on the indicated date.


Finding eBooks 

To find eBooks with SpartaCat, after you have started your search, on the results page, use the Limit Search Results options. 

Look for the Item Type search result limiter. 

Select Electronic Books and click Include to add this limiter or filter to your search.

This removes any and all items that are not eBooks from your search results. 

 

 

 

 

 


Accessing our eBooks

In the results, eBooks will be tagged with the words Electronic Resource and their location will be Online. To view an eBook from the search results page, use the link labeled Click Here to Read OnlineThis Click Here to Read Online link also appears on the eBook's Item Details (or summary) page.

image of Click Here to Read Online link from search results

image of click here to read online from Item Details

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Clicking this link will open the eBook in a new screen. You may be prompted to login with your Northampton username and password before you can begin reading the book. 


See a Demonstration

Watch our SpartaCat video tutorial for a search demonstration. 

How Do I Check Out Books & Other Library Items?

To Check Out Library Items:



Present your NCC ID or any other photo ID along with the items you
are checking out to our staff at the Circulation or Information Desks. 

To get your NCC ID, complete this form and attach an appropriate photo.

Where are the veterinary technology books in the library?

Books about animals and veterinary topics are located in the SF section of the STACKS.

Great resource!

Other areas for books about aniimals

Animal Rights: STACKS HV4700  - HV4915 

Zoology: STACKS QL

Ebooks

EBSCO Discovery Service: EDS

EBSCO Discovery Service: finding books

You can use EBSCO Discovery Service to find books in the library collection and ebooks in the library's online collection.

To find books in EBSCO Discovery Service click on all filters, then choose books as displayed in the image below

Once you add books to your search, print books are displayed with location and SpartaCat and ebooks are displayed with a database name and access now, see picture below