LibGuides: VETC: Resources for the Veterinary Technician Program: Find veterinary topic information

Search most of the library's databases with one search box, including EBSCOhost and ProQuest

EBSCO Discovery Service: Tips for using

SEARCH RESULTS

Below the box with the search term(s) you will notice boxes that contain filters. A filter is a way of reducing the number of search results by type of source and date of the source. In the picture below, the ALL FILTERS box says 2, and those 2 filters are full-text available online and peer reviewed. If you click on ALL FILTERS a window will open with more filters. ALL TIME refers to when the item was published. You can limit how many years will show in the results. Go to the next picture to learn more about filters.

FILTERS

Filters allow you to make your result list smaller, by using source type and date range as a filtering tool. You should always use full - text available online as a filter. Depending on your assignment, you may not need peer reviewed. You change the source type to book, ebook, academic journal etc.

EBSCOhost health databases

EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
One of the essential databases to your NCC research experience! Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full text.

Click on the link above, and then click on health, and you can search all of EBSCOhost's health modules at one time including: Academic Search Elite, Associates Programs Source, CINAHL with full text, Health Source Nursing and Academic Edition, and Master File Premier.

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health: NCC and LCCC

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine.

PubMed Central PMC

PubMed Central--PMC This link opens in a new window
This source is full text! Use it to find articles related to health, medicine, human biology, & other life sciences topics.

PubMed

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
This resource is available to everyone for free. You do not need a login to use it.

Enter your keywords in the search box.

The results will display.

Narrow the search results to find a great source by using the filters:

Text Availability: Choose Free Full Text

Article Type: Choose anything but books and documents

Publication Date: Choose 1 year or 5 years

E-journals

DMV360 - contains many magazine articles and other helpful resources

Innovative Veterinary Care Journal - Innovation is the key to veterinarians staying competitive and being able to provide their clients with the absolute best care possible. IVC Journal delivers the most up to date and compelling information available by bridging the gap between the traditional worlds of allopathic and integrative veterinary care.

Open Veterinary Journal - open access journal containing scientific and original research articles.

PLOS - Public Library of Science, that provides open access to articles from 6 of their publications, including PLOS ONE and PLOS MEDICINE

Veterinary Clinics of North America - Equine Practice (links to table of contents only - full-text is available in Book Stacks SF 951 .V47)

Veterinary Clinics of North America - Small Animal Practice (links to table of contents only - full-text is available in Book Stacks SF 601 .V5232

Clinical Case Reports (Open Access Journal)
Clinical Case Reports welcomes case reports, clinical images, and procedural videos from all areas of Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Psychology, Medical Ethics, Social Work and Veterinary Science.

Clinical Case Reports aims to publish cases which illustrate the use of important systematic reviews
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Human - Animal Interactions (CABI Digital Library) OPEN ACCESS
Human—Animal Interactions is an open access interdisciplinary journal devoted to the dissemination of research in all fields related to interactions between non-human animals and their human counterparts.
Today's Veterinary Practice (NAVC)
Access the current issue and past issues.

You can also subscribe for free to the journal.
Today's Veterinary Nurse (NAVC)
You can access the current issue and past issues.
You can subscribe for free for an online access.

CABI Digital Library

CABI Digital Library (Advanced Search)
You can only access the Open Access content of this digital library. Using the advanced search tool, you will use the filter labeled: OPEN ACCESS CONTENT ONLY

VETC: Resources for the Veterinary Technician Program: Find veterinary topic information

Peer Reviewed

A peer reviewed publication is a journal that has experts in a particular field review articles that are to be published. All of the databases listed on this page have peer reviewed articles included. Each one designates that article differently.

EBSCO Discovery Service has it as a filter on the search box, as shown below. It labels it as Scholarly Peer Reviewed.

PubMed Central: all articles are peer reviewed

PubMed: all articles are peer reviewed

EBSCOhost has a filter to search for scholarly peer reviewed

ProQuest has a filter to search for peer reviewed

EJournals: Open Veterinary Journal and PLOS are all peer reviewed publications.