Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
KNOW YOUR SOURCES
- Articles are written by authorities in the field
- Articles undergo a peer review process before acceptance for publication
- Authors of articles always cite their sources
- Example: New England Journal of Medicine
- Intended for a general audience
- Articles are written by staff reporters
- Articles are heavily illustrated, generally with photographs
- No peer review process
- Articles usually do not have references or a bibliography
- Example: Time, National Geographic
SEARCH TERMS - KEYWORDS
Here are some search terms that might be helpful for your research:
- genetic adaptations
- intelligent design
- genetic screening
- genetic disease treatments
- reproductive technology
- gene therapy
- genetically altered foods
- genetic engineering
- agricultural biotechnology
Library Databases with biology articles from journals and books (login required)
Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea & Bacteria This link opens in a new window
Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB) is a reference work for microbiology that describes bacteria physiology, ecology, and taxonomy. It is the electronic version of the book series of the same name located in the reference area of the library.
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window
This database covers all of your science needs! All branches of science, including health and medicine, are represented. Current and controversial science topics are also covered here.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
One of the essential databases to your NCC research experience! Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full text.
Salem Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable e-books covering science topics like biomes, the environment, & more.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
Library Databases with articles about controversial issues (login required)
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Researching a controversial, persuasive, or current topic? Use this source to find long reports covering popular topics. Each report covers the background of the issue, current happenings, looking to the future, and pro/con arguments.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Working on a persuasive speech or paper? Look here for articles on alternative points of view on controversial issues. Click the “Browse Issues” tab to get a list of topics.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Full reports on current or controversial topics and issues that include an introduction, history, supporting and opposing arguments, timelines, and statistics.
Open Access Journal Collections (no login, all are free)
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Expanding beyond biomedicine into the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines, BMC now offers a wider portfolio of subject fields on a single open access platform.
Frontiers This link opens in a new window
Frontiers is a leading Open Access Publisher and Open Science Platform
Our journals are led and peer-reviewed by editorial boards of over 100,000 top researchers. Covering more than 600 academic disciplines, we are one of the largest and highest-cited publishers in the world. To date, our freely accessible research articles have received over 500 million views and downloads and 1 million citations.
PLOS One This link opens in a new window
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PubMed Central--PMC This link opens in a new window
This source is full text! Use it to find articles related to health, medicine, human biology, & other life sciences topics.
Clinical Case Reports (Open Access Journal)
Clinical Case Reports welcomes case reports, clinical images, and procedural videos from all areas of Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Psychology, Medical Ethics, Social Work and Veterinary Science.
Clinical Case Reports aims to publish cases which illustrate the use of important systematic reviews