Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOS 240: Microbiology: Finding articles in databases and online

Use this research guide to find library resources for BIOS240 - Microbiology.

Tips for finding scientific experiment articles in databases

When searching databases to find articles that are original research and scientific articles, there are some search terms that you can use to help locate this specific type of article.

You can add any of the following words: study, trial, methodology, methods, randomized trial, blind trial, and groups

Examples of words to put in the search box:

arthritis study

lung cancer trial

asthma trial group

 

Library databases containing scientific articles

Library subscription databases that require a login from your personal device.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS): searches most of the library's databases

EBSCOhost

ProQuest

Science in Context

To use these databases, see the individual boxes below to locate articles within these sources.  These databases can be used on campus or from your personal device.  You must login with your MYNCC credentials. 

Choose the option for full text, scholary journals.

To search for original research articles, use the following search terms:

1. your topic

2. blind trial

Search EBSCO Discovery Service

Gale in Context Science

Other databases containing science and original research articles

There are many databases of science articles available via the Internet.  These databases are free and do not require you to log in.

PubMed Central: is from the National Library of Medicine and contains only full text articles

PLOS, Public Library of Science: has many journals related to health and science that contain only full text articles.

BMC Biology

Directory of Open Access Journals

See the individual boxes below to locate articles within these sources.

PubMed Central PMC

 

PLOS Public Library of Science

PLOS stands for the Public Library of Science, and this is a source of open access (free to all via the Internet) full text access on all areas of science and medicine.

The following journals make up the PLOS platform:

PLOS One: this online journal has full text original research articles in all areas of science

PLOS Biology

PLOS Medicine

PLOS Genetics

PLOS Pathogens

BMC Biology

BMC Biology is an open access online journal that provides full text articles for free.

https://bmcbiol.biomedcentral.com/

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals