Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JOUR: Journalism: Databases & Periodicals

This guide will help you find information about Journalism, including historical and current perspectives on the field, as well as how-to guides for future professionals.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) -- The Super Database!

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is the most powerful database at the Library, allowing you to search many smaller databases all at once. Search results include:

  • Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers;
  • Descriptions of materials in the Library's collection, such as books and DVDs;
  • Links to online resources like e-books and streaming videos.

Be sure to click the box labeled "Limit to Full Text" in order to find the entire content of articles.

Using Library Databases From Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link and when prompted, enter your NCC student I.D. number and the password that was mailed to you (the same login and password you use to open your MyNCC account). Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Finding Periodicals by Title

If you're interested in a particular journal or magazine, and want to find the Library database where it's located, use the Publication Finder. This tool allows you to search by title or subject, and will show you which database contains full-text coverage of each periodical.

Here's a brief selection of Journalism publications that you may view using the NCC Library's databases.

EBSCOhost

  • American Journalism
  • American Periodicals
  • Columbia Journalism Review
  • Gateway Journalism Review
  • Journalism Practice
  • Journalism Studies
  • Quill

ProQuest

  • Editor & Publisher
  • IRE Journal (Investigative Reporters & Editors)
  • Journal of Sports Media
  • Media Industry Newsletter

Databases for Researching Journalism Topics

The Library databases listed below are recommended for researching a variety of topics, including Journalism. Depending upon the perspective you wish to take when writing about an issue, you may want to look for historical information, current news articles, or a combination of both. These descriptions of the databases will help you decide where to begin searching.

 

CQ Researcher -- Provides full-text articles about controversial topics, both current and historical, in a wide variety of subject areas. Materials are dated from 1923 to the present.

D&B Hoovers -- This business database provides information on individual companies and entire industries, including profits, management, company histories, and more.

EBSCOhost -- Use this general subject database to find articles on a variety of topics from journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Most articles are available in full text. EBSCOhost is a good choice if you're looking for news articles about recent events. Use the Newspaper Source and Regional Business News modules to find coverage of local issues, written by local reporters. 

Opposing Viewpoints -- This database presents different perspectives on a variety of controversial issues. Resources include magazine, journal and newspaper articles, video and audio news clips, and chapters from the Opposing Viewpoints book series. Use this database if you're writing an argumentative or persuasive paper (or speech), and would like to find information in a "pro and con" format.

ProQuest Central -- Use this general subject database to find articles on a variety of topics from journals, magazines and newspapers. Most articles are available in full text. If you want to find articles from a specific magazine or journal, ProQuest is a good place to start. Select the "Publications" search option to locate the magazine or journal, then use the "Search Within This Publication" box to find articles about your topic.

U.S. History in Context -- This database covers themes, events, and people from U.S. history. Resources include full-text articles, maps and images, and many primary source documents.